New compound will stop illness causing bacteria

in #stemng7 years ago

If you are into medicine and biology then you probably realize that microorganisms always seem to find a way to develop resistance to all types of disinfectants and treatments. Bacteria are becoming more resistant to antibiotics and this is a huge public health issue as it affects societal welfare.

Needless to say, i have been following up on this and i found this amazing research by Michael Federle from the University of Illinois at Chicago on this new compound he discovered that could potentially stop bacteria from causing illnesses like pneumonia, scarlet fever, among others.

Put simply, this tool he created will monitor the communication process between bacterial cells in order to manipulate the quorum sensing pathways so that any signals can be blocked and illness spread prevented. How awesome is that!

Read more about this below:
https://phys.org/news/2018-02-compound-bacteria-sickness.html

Sort:  

Informative post. Keep it up.

True, pretty cool

Nice hope to see more

Thanks : )

Educative. Keep it up

Nice post 👏.. Bt can you wait for black panther movie NO!! Kindly check out my post on it @alaoabdulhaleem.. Video coming out soon watch out 🙏🙏🙏🙏 please do upvote thank you

You and me both. I'll probably go watch it twice.

omg...im super hyped about the movie...got my ticket in advance : )

I wonder if there is a way to combat germs/infections by weakening the cell barriers to make silver more effective in these treatments? I know silver has been used for medicine for centuries, but maybe there is a way to make it more effective?

Copper also helps kill MRSA. I heard about that in a documentary.

Didn't know that one. I wonder how you would apply it? I know one can make colloidal silver...how about colloidal copper?

I think it's more about the bacteria dies on the copper so I think they said some hospitals are looking into having copper door handles- the down side is the oxidation that turns it dark with time.

True, but when it comes to combating MRSA, I'll take function over aesthetics.

wow...interesting

wow...i did not know about the use of silver to combat germs, im definitely going to read more on that. Thanks

Yes, it cuts right through germ cell membranes. Antiviral and antibacterial. Romans used to drop silver in their water jugs to purify the water.

A friend of mine just published a related research on quorum sensing. I think these are recent ways of combating resistance of microorganism

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/322871747_Quorum_sensing_inhibitory_potential_and_in_silico_molecular_docking_of_flavonoids_and_novel_terpenoids_from_Senegalia_nigrescens

Thanks for this...it is awesome

What happened with your previous username?

Ms. Anyi I nominated you to join in a giveaway by libertyteeth. I posted about it here
https://steemit.com/contest/@leggy23/join-the-community-minnow-support-giveaway-hosted-by-libertyteeth-nominate-me.
Please nominate me and 4 other people to earn more Upvotes.

i like this your post tooo please like mine too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62959.39
ETH 2453.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62