How To Archive Data - Most Important PointsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #stem7 years ago

We'll be taking a brief break from Elementary Statistics series on SQL In Six Minutes with a video about archiving data. In addition to receiving a recent question about this issue from some developers, we should consider when, how and why we plan to archive data. In addition to security and what I call research stupidity, we must consider the limitations of our environment and the desire of our clients. Our clients determine what we want ultimately - we do not. When it comes to tech, some of what we're doing is designing for the client, regardless of whether we see value or not.

In the video, I use an example of a situation I don't see value with, but I point out it's about what the user wants to see - derived data carries little meaning, as we can derive it from the set, but we still need to save the data that make the derivative possible. I link to three other videos I've done in the past that address archiving data.

If you're interested data, I teach the course Automating ETL, which teaches you how to get data easily so that you can quick analyze data in meaningful ways. If you're looking for a short introduction to T-SQL (a SQL language), check out fast-paced course T-SQL In Two Hours.


Other STEM/CTIM Posts I Liked Today

If you're looking for quality and (or) interesting content that supports STEM/CTIM, consider the below links that I found recently.

Si tú escribes en español, tú puedes usar #ctim para ciencia, tecnología, ingenieria, y matemáticas (incluso medicina).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49