Introducing children to electrical engineering

in #stem7 years ago


I had a thought over the past few days, more and more we see schools in Australia and possibly around the world, introducing children to basic concepts of electrical engineering. STEM programs are taking educational systems by storm! Large investments into new facilities and equipment in primary/secondary schools to invoke more interest into robotic type fields.



I want to know what are people’s thoughts on these programs being rolled out at schools? For people who don’t know, STEM (SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, ENGINEERING, MATHEMATICS) are scientific based subjects held at school to assist children in accumulating a strong grasp of the sciences at a young age up till high school. I myself being a previous student at a secondary school taught STEM away from my curricular activities and found that some students couldn’t find interests into learning how to use an, Arduino or basic programming concepts. I myself believe that these investments into STEM are great as our future is rapidly moving forward and the advancement of AI is unprecedentedly closer than we thought! So I want to know your opinion on the matter or should these programs be taught as an optional subject rather than a compulsory subject? Thanks guys for reading 😄

Sort:  

I think this programs should be taught as an optional subject and not compulsory subject...what do you think?

Yes I agree! Because students do have different preferences with subjects and different skills, but I fear that as we near that ‘sci-fi.’ Style future then wouldn’t these programs become compulsory so we can be equipt with many more experts with such skills in the future?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51