Sort:  

I love B&Ws (the cat breed!) We had one we called Jordan 'cause he used to jump right up to my chest to claw his way up to my shoulder! (OUCH!) Brought him down here to Florida with us, but sadly, one night he didn't return from his nightly hunt outdoors. It's a jungle out here!

Tuxedos are definitely amusing. Her mom is tuxedo tabby mix and her dad was a traveling salesman in full tux ;-) She is full of personality! Likes to make us play tag before we're allowed to catch her when she rolls belly up. But we're limited to 2 minutes of scrub giving.

Oh and yes. Jungle. So far we've had two animals go missing.

I couldn't keep Jordan inside the screened porch. He would have clawed his way through it! He lived the way he chose I suppose. Can't ask for more, man or cat!

Exactly. Ditto. Same here. It's not easy to allow it. But there are some animals that would rather die than be cooped up.

Our Molly dog just decided one night that she was through living with her two puppies and the crazy uncle. So for the winter she allowed us to shut her in on the back screened in porch because heat lamp.

Then she just started refusing to come when called. And started living on the front porch after obtaining a cat treaty.

She's not shown up for two nights. And two days. She was getting a little frail. My husband thinks someone will eventually find her skeleton curled up somewhere.

I'm willing to go with that theory even though I can think of two more likely.

The other was my male Tom, Purr Bucket, who fetched himself home a feral wife. She was a beauty no doubt but her presence was causing huge issues in the clowder.

We tried various solutions and finally had to call animal control. She was carried off after quite a commotion on the back porch.

When it was over, Purr Bucket, gave me the biggest go to hell look a cat can ever pull off and disappeared under the strorage building that's up on pier and beam ... never to be seen again. Can't blame him.

I try to remain convinced that he's out there living with someone who loves him.

And, Mr. BW, this cat's dad, did get run over but he wasn't ours. We don't really know if he belonged to anyone. We know he covered at least a 1 mile radius. He was a really good dad though.

This is my first experience allowing cats and dogs to live as they wish. Mostly.

We do kennel at least the leader of the pack at night, when the kennel is not under a redesign. This week he's on a lead. Working out so far. The young ones are staying home too.

I know they're happy but it can get nerve wracking for me. I can be caught standing on the front porch meowing for all I'm worth if Mr whiner comes home late. Yes, he does answer me all the way in from the fields. If he's close enough.

They become our children of their breed... It wouldd be good to live long enough for technology to make a translator between us, but I'm not sure their habits could ever be fully understood. Heck, our remaining Siamese already lets me know when she's hungry, happy, or sad, without having to say a "meow!"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61823.88
ETH 2390.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57