UNICEF Parenting Childrens with Dissabilities Forum

in #steemxp4 years ago

I was invited to attend this forum on 13/2 at Hyatt Regency Hotel. It was the 1st time this forum were held in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah. Normally only in West Malaysia.

1jzoap.jpg

This forum was organised by National Population and Family Development Board together with UNICEF Malaysia. Many parents, therapists, teachers, and all child dissability centers were invited. The main objective is to contribute ideas to improve the challenges faced by children with dissabilities in the country.

zxh84g.jpg
hosted by Zoe Gan, UNICEF President Malaysia

fmdonz.jpg
current data and evidence presented by Dr.Jamie M.Lachman

169dyo.jpg

ALARMING
What surprised me the most was 50% of children with dissabilities are NOT in school! 😱😱 Because of schools' silent discrimination by filtering children with dissabilities for the sake of their own school performances and scores!! This is the dark side of so called good govenment school and society blindly praised them!?? And parents just kept silent 🤐🤐 THIS IS INHUMAN!! 🤬🤬🤬

I understood this very well because my son (who have speech delayed and dyslexia) was the victim of SK (C) Anglo Chinese School, Kota Kinabalu. The school gave me a so called helping but troublesome process and silently withdrawn my son's name from entering Primary 1. Until after I found out from Education Ministry and confronted the school, the councillor gave me a very rude and disgusting interviews.

In the forum, I'm able to meet and talked to many people and know all their experiences and difficulties. I was lucky enough to be able to meet a 24 years old dyslexic adult and gained insight of her difficulties.

w62sbo.jpg
2 parents were invited to share their experiences of raising their children with dissabilities. What surprised me the most was a mother with 3 child of dissability (2x autistic Lev 1 & 2, 1 hearing loss)! Even though all 3 children are grown up now , she still struggling to coup. 😢😢😢

(I have only 1 child with dylexic and I struggling. I'm battling with God everyday seeking answers. What stress me out is the sense of helplessness. I have no knowledges of how to improve my son's condition. 😭😭😭)

um5y3n.jpg
Video conferencing with Ms.Asma Maladwala, an Early Childhood Development and Children with Dissabilities based in UNICEF HQ New York

9pc49j.jpg
Apart from that everyone were put into groups and discussed about challenges and methods of improvement for the life of both parents and dissability childrens.

I hope with all ideas and suggestions contributed by everyone could really help and beneficial to this society. It was a great and fruitful event, and also foodful for me😁😁. 🍲🥘🥗🍱🍜🍝🍰🍨...

zmfy4g.jpg

w4m5jv.jpg

wleisu.jpg

ybswqf.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Dear reader, Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.me/esteem

Congratulations @farseerol! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 90 posts. Your next target is to reach 100 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87