You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemWorld Update / New Tool Available / Abuse Finder

in #steemworld4 years ago

Why should I flag a plagiarist spending my own voting power while for example you use your voting power to earn curation reward?
Look, nobody would do anything against abuse in this scenario (which we had before on STEEM).

Your concern is that aggressive whales may flag more if flags are 'free'. Therefore I suggested the implementation of an elected committee to counter abusive flags.

Sort:  

I like the your post regarding downvote link given in above comment.

But i again say that you can think it other way. Make a committee of respected users elected by community and equipped with sufficient SP to flag the post those are abusing (milking/farming purposes) the system. Not for as you mentioned.

Keep the one voting power for upvote/downvote and if any steemians feels that someone is abusing the system then inform to committee and committee analysis and take decision and according to decision they can downvote that user posts/comments.

Think it other way. Why everyone downvote, when we can have a committee for it.

In your suggestion first everyone downvotes others and then committee will correct. It means first we do wrong thing then we correct.
In my suggestion in first time we do correct thing.

Think it other way. Why everyone downvote, when we can have a committee for it.

If we had that committee, then many different options would be available. I am open for discussion.

The question is, if that committee alone would be eneough to curb all kinds of abuses. I like for example the idea to flag obvious plagiators (which I recently did in my insect community) instead of getting in contact with a committee, tell them there is a plagiator and cause them additional work.

It is more easy and pragmatic to flag myself, and then people can still complain about me if I abuse my downvotes (the plagiator won't complain and cause additional work, because he knows himself that he is a plagiator ...).
I think to further reduce workload of the committee downvotes of users who misuse flags could permanently and automatically be countered by committee upvotes.

One of the main tasks of the committee could be to solve the 'hard cases' of accounts which are too big to handle for the average user.

But I agree, there is enough food for further thoughts and discussions.

The committee will not find whom to downvote. The committee will review the request for downvote given by any steemians, that's it. Like they will do, as your suggestion (after the downvote review). Work will same. Do the things right in one shot, not in second shot.
I hope we both understand the situation.

The committee will not find whom to downvote. The committee will review the request for downvote given by any steemians, that's it.

And that's the problem: the committee won't have unlimited resources (concerning time, staff and money). In a decentralized society users/community bear part of the responsibility.

Why should I bother the community with a small plagiator which I can handle myself? We shouldn't assume that flags in general are used in an abusive way because that's just wrong.
In my opinion the committee should be there to handle the big, serious cases.

Why should I bother the community with a small plagiator which I can handle myself?

That's the main problem of war in free downvotes. If you really feels abuse then use from your voting power, so that it shows your seriousness else you just enjoying the free power.
If i got downvote and that was personal reasons. Why should i compliant to community? Why should i wait for committee response? I will do it myself, if i have enough more SP and use free downvote against that steemians. That's the problem.
If i don't have enough SP, i will sit keep quite. Go to committee, explain the issue, wait for that, these things do linger-on the issue.

In my opinion the committee should be there to handle the big, serious cases.

What is big, serious cases. It is depends on each and every user. For me it will be 0.02 STU and for you 20.0 STU and for someone 200.0 STU. The question is flag required or not.

My Big NO NO NO to Free negative things.

If you really feels abuse then use from your voting power, so that it shows your seriousness else you just enjoying the free power.

No, I don't enjoy "free power", but I really like that downvoting a plagiator doesn't cost me voting power.
Even WITH 'free downvotes' the huge number (and power) of abusers is barely to curb, and of course that was even worse before.

If i got downvote and that was personal reasons. Why should i compliant to community? Why should i wait for committee response? I will do it myself, if i have enough more SP and use free downvote against that steemians. That's the problem.

I see no problem: in case the 'downvote war' escalates, then it's the task of the committee to mediate it ... only then.

If i don't have enough SP ...

Right, if a small account is harassed by a bigger one (and for example flagged automatically all the time) that would be a case for the committee.

What is big, serious cases. It is depends on each and every user. For me it will be 0.02 STU and for you 20.0 STU and for someone 200.0 STU. The question is flag required or not.

Help is required if anybody cannot solve the problem, if he is thinking to quit STEEM because of flag threats. To decide when that's the case is also subjective. Recently, I also received quite an amount of flags from a very 'friendly' whale, but I just don't care.

I just understand from discussion that some stemmians wants free negative things to abuse the systems. If we give power to everyone wihtout any her/his loss, maximum will misuse that. You can see these examples in real world.
Hope we have too much discussion but i am not satisfied with arguments and also you are not satisfied with my arguments. So, No problem, we have to stick with our view and go forward and grow steem together. Cheers !!!

I have received many downvotes hear in 2years of life but i never complaint that and never downvotes others. Whatever the reasons.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59476.67
ETH 2299.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48