SteemWatch Update 2017-09-13steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemwatch7 years ago

Hello everybody,

I just want to explain the situation around SteemWatch since people are complaining about the service being unstable, lagging behind the current block and what not.

I know about all the issues, but as I said, I am working on SteemWatch in my spare time. I implemented it at the beginning as fast as possible as a single monolithic application and it is hitting some limits these days. I am planning to fix it, but you have to bear with it until it is resolved.

For now it is totally meaningless to keep asking about new features and complaining. It is only getting on my nerves. It would be actually much easier for me to just shut it down, but I don't want to do it because people use it and I invested quite some energy into implementing it.

If you want to support the effort, you can always contribute to SteemWatch. It lives on GitHub. The code is not pretty right now, but you can always do it if you have the motivation.

I don't really feel like asking people for money on large scale since the quality of the service is not there yet, but if you totally want to support SteemWatch in getting better, donations are welcome. Anyway, you can always contact me on Steemit Chat if you have any questions.

I will keep posting updates here on Steemit, so stay tuned ;-)

Cheers!

Sort:  

Thanks for the post. I had noticed some issues with it and wasn't sure if you were aware. Now that I know you are aware I won't bug you :) I really appreciate the service!

Hey @void, I just discovered Steemwatch yesterday and it worked fine for a few happy hours. Just wanted to tell you this, when people are bugging you for new features or complaining that the service is not up, basically the only thing they are telling you is that you have made something awesome, something very valuable and something they didn't know they needed, but now are really missing it when it's not always there.

It's our sense of entitlement that directs us to say things that make you wanna ditch the service entirely. Please, pretty please, don't listen to our ramblings, we humbly apologize.

We're just all big fans of the thing you've developed.

(btw, most of us, like me can't tell whether your lines were written elegantly or not, the majority here have no coding skills)

Thank you.

I am a bit calmer now that I hopefully managed to fix the most critical issues and don't feel like I have to be online 24/7 to be able to restart SteemWatch every time it gets stuck or starts lagging too much behind the current block :-)

Just remember that you have no obligation whatsoever to keep a certain service online or not. You created it in your free time to begin with. Even when people tell you they expect a certain performance, you are not their servant. If a certain performance is required by someone, he should simply clone your repo and implement improvements or else just shut up.

But I'm glad it's back and seems to be running smoothly. It's absolutely a valuable addition to the Steem ecosystem.

Cheers!

Appreciate your hard work thank for the up-date. Will be following you! -Dan

woow that s really awesome i didn t think that such service exist great work @void

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63441.26
ETH 2477.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64