SteemWatch 0.4.0 Is Deployed!

in #steemwatch8 years ago (edited)

SteemWatch is the notification center for Steemit.com that anybody can sign up to. Today I am happy to announce that I deployed version 0.4.0 into production.

Release Notes

As usual, you can find details on GitHub, but let me go through the most interesting changes.

New Event Kind: account.updated

I added a new event that you can watch for. account.updated is triggered when an account from the list is updated. In case your account is hacked, you will be the first to know :-)

Blacklist for user.mentioned

Another new thing is that there is now a blacklist for user.mentioned event. This is handy in case a bot (e.g. @wang) is constantly mentioning you or an article of yours. You can add the bot to the list and you will not receive any notifications when mentioned.

Side Story I - status.steemwatch.com

I improved http://status.steemwatch.com to fail when SteemWatch is on a fork. When no block is processed in 10 minutes, I will receive an email telling me to get up and go update steemd :-)

Side Story II - go-steem/rpc

I improved go-steem/rpc so that it is now able to parse many more operations than before. The list is still not complete, but we are getting there. You can see the list of operations supported natively in operations.go.

What Is Next?

The plan might be changing a bit. Instead of email notifications I am thinking about a browser extension or just extending SteemWatch webapp to include a section where you can watch the events in real-time, perhaps also adding browser desktop notifications. Any feedback of what you would like to see next is appreciated, though.

Support

As usual, any support is greatly appreciated. SteemWatch is a free service for now. You can just upvote this post, or send some money directly to @void if you feel like doing so.

In any case, have fun with SteemWatch, I hope that you like the improvements!


Feel free to join #steemwatch on Steem Slack to receive updates.

Sort:  

Wang is going to have dozens of competitors.

@coar - How does he get away with putting his wang on every newcomer's post?

Thanks Void & Everyone

👍👍👍

bullionstackers

Why do you following me? Are you a maniac? xD

1 cent? I need 1 million! xD

He doesn't seem to be that poor, about time he's early adopter abuse gets calmed down. :)

good stuff! thanks for all the hard work that you do for not only steem but the community as well.

Small suggestion is maybe automatically have the big guys names already entered for all users, such as @dan, @ned and all the rest. If people don't want them they can just remove them.

Thanks so much @void, been using SteemWatch and it's made my Steemit experience so much better!!!

Glad you like it :-)

this will make it easier for people to develop robots.

That doesn't sound good.

How come? I don't see how people would develop bots using SteemWatch. Anyway, the data SteemWatch is using is available publicly to anyone, so there is no way to prevent people from writing bots.

Awesome! SteemWatch has been absolutely invaluable. Kudos on the rapid development. Can't wait to see where it goes next.

The time is somehow limited, but I should have a few spare days now to dive into something.

Any sneak peeks into what's next?

It is mentioned in the post. But I am happy to get any ideas from the users.

I don't know if this is possible, but I'd love to log in with my Steemit account and have a feed from everyone I'm following. I have kind of replicated the users I'm following on SteemWatch, but this'll just make it easy.

Quite useful, I have to admit

This is a great webapp that I have been using since you first put it out! Thanks for the updates.

extending SteemWatch webapp to include a section where you can watch the events in real-time, perhaps also adding browser desktop notifications.

This would be helpful!

I am having fun with SteemWatch, I do like the improvements!

Very nice infos thanks mate !

Fk.. What this?

SteemWatch bug, I implemented a workaround, will fix it in the evening.

Beautiful work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28