Steem Wars: Day 5: Wednesday Yellow: Team USA

in #steemwars7 years ago

--.. . .-.. .-.. --- .--

Day 5 is yellow. What an interesting color, yellow with such a range of connotations that evoke a variety of emotions. To many, yellow may represent warmth and happiness, represented by the sun. When children are asked to draw a picture of a happy time, most often a sun is included in the picture.

Child's happy drawing.jpg

Yellow is often used to depict treachery or cowardice. Judas Iscariot (perhaps the best known traitor) is often shown wearing yellow during medieval times. In Spain during the Inquisition, victims were forced to wear yellow as a symbol of treason and heresy. In American in the 1800's the phrase "yellow dog" was used to describe anything considered worthless. Even today, phrase "yellow-bellied coward" still persists.

Coward soldier.png

While the color Yellow spans the spectrum of emotions, it maintains the middle ground in the color spectrum. In "ROYGBIV", the acronym used to remember the colors of the rainbow in decreasing wave length, Yellow is next to the middle color, Green.

ROYGBIV.jpg

Today, on this sunny, Independence Day (here in the USA), my yellow photo is one that brings happiness and cheer to all, and a brings a smile on the faces of children everywhere.

THE OSCAR MEYER WEINERMOBILE

Wienermobile-Bologna.jpg

How can you get any more American than that? The second part of "Baseball, Hot Dogs, Apple Pie, and Chevrolet". I have actually seen the Weinermobile when we lived in Indiana. One snowy winter morning driving along US 20, I saw the poor fella in the ditch. Why they felt the need to drive that top heavy, long wheelbase, unmaneuverable vehicle when there was snow on the roads, I'll never know. Even though it was stuck in the ditch, it still made me smile as I drove by.

This just in! American Joey "Jaws" Chestnut has retained his world title during the 36th annual Nathan's hot dog eating contest the Coney Island boardwalk in New York City, eating 72 hot dogs in 10 minutes.

http://bleacherreport.com/articles/2719781-joey-chestnut-wins-2017-nathans-hot-dog-eating-contest-his-10th-all-time

Reporting from the battlefront, this is Colonel Hogan

Sort:  

Hooooo-gaaan!

Relax Klink, I'm sure that General Burkhalter won't mind that I sent a message out. In fact, if you tell me the coordinates of the next German/ Australian bombing run, I'll bet he'll think you're a genius.

100% up vote to anyone who can find my hidden message in the post above.

Great post! Understanding all the ways yellow can be used to both express mood or other things like being a traitor - is important to know as an artist and designer. Thanks for sharing @swenger! Upvoted - GO #TEAMUSA!

Thanks For the Post, UP VOTED I will continue to support you and anyone who follows me

Excellent post my friend, visit my profile and read mine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57