STEEM WARS: DAY 2: THE 80's: TeamGB - StormUK69steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemwars7 years ago (edited)

Love 80s.jpg

The 80's......Were Do I Start ???

Well for me it was a time of Innocence, Optimism, First Sexual Encounters, Dodgy Clothes, School Discos and still having Hair !!!

I was lucky enough to experience the 80's in my Teens.

These days I tend to bang on about how great the 80's were in exactly the same way my parents did about the 60's.

No doubt my kids think oh god here we go again in exactly the same way that I used to with my parents !

Mike13.jpg

YES... Unfortunately I am the dodgy looking kid pictured on his 13th Birthday wearing the Red Denim and Roller Boots.

Now that awful picture has reared it's ugly head let's take a trip down memory lane, where I select some of the best things that I love about the 80's.

INSTANT CAMERA:
polaroid-600-camera-80s-style-refurbished-set.jpg

I lovingly remember family snaps being taken and then fighting with my Brothers to decide who got to shake the picture.

The way this thing worked was you took a photo which was then spat out the front of the Camera. Then you had to shake it like you had a swarm of Bees attacking you until it developed.

VIDEO GAMES:
Atari-2600-with-Joystick.jpg

My first experience of home Video games was playing the Atari 2600.

We did not have our own, so as a treat with used to rent one from the local Video store once per month.

My favourite games was "Adventure" !!

Adventure Dragon.jpg

MUSIC:
Now1.jpg

One of the big movements in Music at the time was the NOW! Music compilations

Previously it was a Cassette recording of the Top 40 Songs from the Radio on a Sunday.

GHETTO BLASTER & BREAKDANCING:

Ghetto Blaster.JPG

I joined up to the the local "Crew" and we religiously practiced our moves. We went down to the local Factory to do some "Skip Diving" to retrieve enough Cardboard to supply half of the UK. We then taped all of this together into a huge Dance Mat and then danced the day away.

The moves were quite primitive back then.
The mother of all the moves was "The Windmill". Once you mastered this you were the man !!

COMPUTERS:
Commodore_64_Box.jpg

My first Computer was the Awesome Commodore 64

I look back at the times you would wait 30 mins for a game to load only for it to Crash at the last the minute.
You would then simply rewind, try again and sit patiently until the game loaded.

These days kids complain (Including Myself) if a games take more than a few seconds to load.

The other "Fun" thing was the weekly Magazine that you brought. This always contained exciting code on how to program your own games. Of course this rarely worked leaving you in high anticipation of the next episode with the corrected code.

Some of this code took hours to type in and it didn't work. Again it wasn't a problem !

FINALLY.....THE BEST PART OF THE 80's

LEMON POPSICLE FILMS:

Lemon popsicle.jpg

This Film was about 3 coming of Age Teenagers and their sexual encounters.
At the time it was quite meaningful as I was going through Puberty and endeavouring to find my own encounters.

My favourite character of the 3 was Huey the Fat kid that everyone poked fun at.

He was also the one that always got caught by the Husband returning home after his friends had previously got "Laid"

I think what made it all the more funny was down to the dodgy sound overdub into English.

The Films were made and filmed in Israel and were not in English so the Lip Sync made it all the more fun.

Huey.jpg

Thanks for creating a great topic to write about.

I could have written for hours, but wanted to give the other Countries half a chance !!!

TeamGB Footer.png

Sort:  

Nice post buddy. I had that Atari console, it was so f*cking awesome at the time. Thx for the reminder dude.

Yeah I could bang on all day about the 80's it was so awesome ;-)

No shit brother, I left school in 83 it was my era and the memories are epic.
The music, the clothes, the massive hair and shoulder pads!

lmao that alone is worth my shitty little Upvote and a follow !!!

thanks for sharing, was born in the late 80s but remember a lot of this!

I'm the winner of the "I'm not going to upvote you 🐋 Do it yourself! #9 Contest"
Just gave a whale vote courtesy @htooms's for your efforts (Check out his blog)! thanks and keep up the great work @jznsamuel!

@jznsamuel - Thankyou so much for the very kind words. They are greatly appreciated.
To pay it forward I have clicked the follow button as it is nice to follow people with the same outlook on life as me. #sharingiscaring

Thank you, followed you for more of your great posts :)

Then you had to shake it like you had a swarm of Bees attacking you until it developed.

So true, I was laughing at that.

I was too young for lemon popsicle though now for some reason I am intrigued and feel like I have to see it.

@scarletleonard If you can please make sure to hunt them out. They are hilarious. Accompanied by a sweet soundtrack from the 60's. 1-3 are my favourite and the funniest.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by StormUK69 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87