My nephew's Mona Lisa - not Photoshopped!

in #steemusaphoto6 years ago

In my previous post (https://busy.org/@mikeycolon/being-selective-with-my-shots-in-washington-dc-with-the-monomad-challenge-in-mind-ae8f5cf1c0443est) I mentioned how I was in Washington DC for about a day and a half. I knew I wouldn't be able to shoot everything so I had to be selective (due to the time constraint).

So I decided to bring my Pixelstick with me to create some dramatic light painting images at night with my newphew.

We shot several images in front of the Capitol building, the Washington Monument and this image was taken in front of the Lincoln Memorial.

13-0-sec-at-f-11-ISO-100-20181014-5-D3-1438

Once we shot this image we felt that it was no point in shooting any further as it was a masterpiece and we probably wouldn't be able to do better! Plus it was already 12:30 in the morning.

As a side note - the Pixelstick got us detained by Secret Service as the parks department helicopter saw unusual lights while they were doing their sweep of the park because Trump was going to be flying in at any moment!

The funny thing is I was also filming a video tutorial on us shooting with the Pixelstick so I've got the full conversation recorded between us and the officer. When we listened back to it later I realized he said that we can't leave for about 5 minutes or until he tells us to - which essentially means we were detained - lol. We didn't get in trouble as he saw we were just two photo nerds and his mind was blown when we showed him the images we were capturing. And as another side note Trump flew right over us in the Marine 1 helicopter. It was a cool, hilarious and surreal moment!

And speaking of photo nerds - here's the settings used for the photo:

LocationWashington DC
Year2018
CameraCanon 5d Mark iii
Lens16-35mm f4
Shutter Speed13s
Aperturef11
ISO100

Stay tuned for more images from our trip to DC coming this week (probably a lot of ligh painting stuff lol).


SB_new.png

STEEMIT_PLUG

And if you're wondering how we did it - take a look at the Pixelstick's website: http://www.thepixelstick.com/

Sort:  

I've seen creative uses of lightbars before but this one is up there in terms of creativity! Nice shot.

Cheers,

~ Mako

LOL thanks - it's kind of why we ended there!

We got some other cool shots - but the symmetry on this one was amazing.

It really is! If I didn't know how you'd done it and you didn't say, I would have thought it was photoshopped for sure.

~ Mako

That's why I titled it "not photoshopped". LOL

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Mako from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hilarious that it got you detained. Looking forward to seeing the video...

LOL Yea it was!

My nephew said it was in his top 5 life moments. The officer was super cool and was really nice.

As for the first officer that came to us - he was a bit abrasive when he asked what were we doing. But we definitely looked like we were doing something out of the ordinary! LOL

Hahaha! Yeah, I'm sure that would confuse and concern a cop.

You should have seen when I setup a tripod, swapped the lens to a 70-200mm, then put a Lee ND filter - in front of the White House lol.

Oh boy, you're brave for even trying that haha!

Believe me - they're were other crazier people there. Once I saw someone using a tripod - I said f it. Let's try a long exposure.

But the show of force was apparent with 2 scouts (assumeed snipers) on the roof and several people holding sub machine guns.

It's safe to assume they also have the top security and surveillance systems in the world there.

Haha! Yeah, I'd rather deal with bears and mountain lions looking at me than those security guys eyeing me...

I'd rather deal with humans! At least you can talk your way out!

Amazing picture! You are really an awesome photographer! Thanks for sharing this!

I'm glad you dig it! Thanks

Quick update - I've been working on the behind the scenes video and it'll be released tomorrow over at #dtube. Stay tuned!

S1 E14.jpg

This is a really unique shot! It's really cool to see that. Great submission for #steemusaphoto this week.

Awesome - thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94