NEVERWINTER...a forced break?

in #steemusa6 years ago

I think God intervened. He saw that I was spending too much time on this game and placed certain obstacles in my path. I don't mind, I think He is right. A break is necessary in order to keep from getting burned out. I became burned out writing blog everyday on here.

IMG_3402.PNG
(Picture courtesy of google images)

My life has been very stable lately, to the point of deathly boring. I've become complacent and comfortable in my ways, something I swore I would never do, but there's good in both. Accept change when it happens, be comfortable enough in yourself to allow for the routine of daily life. As Bruce Lee once said "Be water, my friend." Be water means to be totally comfortable in any given situation, well I try...I'm not perfect.

My wife wants to go do a fun run for her birthday. It's basically a mud crawl through obstacles..in the cold. Yes, I said. Whatever you want, I'll support you in whatever you wish to do or pursue. I be there to watch. No I do not wish to put my frail old body through that kind of stress. I'm sure the doctor would pee laughing if I even mentioned it. I'll have a folding chair and watch from the sidelines. I'll cheer you on.

That is tomorrow. We leave at 5am. I went to bed early to be ready, but all the bad possibilities keep popping up in my mind. So, great, now I have anxiety over this thing we will be doing. I could go on and on about the millions of various possibilities that could occur, but I'm placing all my faith in God's hands that things will turn out alright. Hope for the best prepare for the worst. Except I know the worst and there's no preparation for it.

Yup, instead of playing my game all night, I have a wonderful case of insomnia and anxiety. I've taken measures, as much as I can, to alleviate my anxiety but short of refusing to go and watch I'm coping best I can. Four hours "4 hours" in the car each way, plus time on the event which could be up to two or three hours, my back will take a beating for sure. So, threat of indescribable pain being almost eminent, taking me out of my comfort zone, anxiety, sleeplessness, all the bad stuff that could happen on the road on the way to or from the event, all the bad stuff that can happen during the event, and I've got a pimple that reared its ugly head ..most likely from the chocolate that I have been eating every other day. All this stuff on my mind and I'm supposed to sleep? ROTFLMFAO!

I have to laugh! The other choice is useless. Heck yeah I'm going! It's my wife and it's her birthday wish! Lol, that, my friend, is what love is. I'd walk over broken glass for her..barefoot, like in the film DIE HARD. She has given so much, the very least I can do is be utterly miserable for a day. I've done what she is planning, but I was a teenager.....way back when. I know full well what it entails. We didn't have "events" we were playing hard is all. Basically we played at being in basic training. Climbing, running, crawling, swimming, etc. was no feat we wouldn't undertake. Now that I'm much MUCH older, I don't feel the need to go do those things. Maybe she never got to do those things, I haven't asked. Maybe that's why she wants to try, but I'm worried. She isn't in shape and hasn't been training for this, like I would if I were insane enough to attempt it. Not saying she's insane, just needing an experience that I already have under my belt.

So she's been sleeping. I had a nap. I got on here to empty my mind of these thoughts and it has helped considerably, but she rolled over and woke up. Caught me writing on my iPad. Asked what was up and I told her. Lol, she said "well quit having anxiety! Don't go." I said I'm going because it's your birthday and I've told you repeatedly that I'd go. Now I'm wondering if she may be right. Should I just let her and the kids go by themselves? Decisions decisions! What to do? "Should I stay or should I go now? If I stay there will be trouble, if I go it will be double" song lyrics and I can't remember who sung them.

Guess my mind is made up. I'll go anyway and deal with the consequences of my actions. That's life. Fun, huh? So, I've enjoyed playing Neverwinter, a whole bunch. It's kind of obvious since y'all haven't heard from me in almost a month. All this time I've been playing and being happy and cheerful. I took a much needed hiatus from television, social media, society, family, responsibility and I'm feeling great, maybe a tad constipated from my medications but otherwise great.

Found out I don't need to spend a dime on it either, unlike World of Warcraft, or so I've heard. It's free on Xbox One. I've met amazingly wonderful people like myself on there and we all get together and play online. It was a dangerous thing to create such a thing. Lol!

I can imagine it now, my wife sitting in the office typing a letter to DEAR ABBY.
Dear Abby,
My husband has found a new hobby, online gaming. He spends upwards of 18 hours a day playing the game. He doesn't come out of his room except to give us hugs and eat food. We haven't spent more than a few hours together since he found his new hobby. He started playing about three weeks ago and he thinks it's his full tie job now. He can't really work a job due to health reasons, but he's becoming a workaholic on his silly game and darnit I might have to buy another Xbox One in order to have a conversation with him about the real world. What should I do?

Thanks,
Tam.

Dear Tam,
Thank you for writing me, be glad he's not spending money on his gaming habits, I haven't seen my family since World of Warcraft became an instant hit! Let him play, at least he's thinking of you and giving you hugs. He's not nagging or being over protective, abusive, or any of the other bad things. If it makes him happy, support him and he will support you. If he refuses to do something you ask, remind him of how you allowed him to play and never bothered him.

Lol, or something like that. Millions of possible variations on the conversation, but thinking of it makes me laugh. I do take time off and make the rounds around the house. Kissing and hugging my loved ones, ready to drop what I'm doing at a moment's notice if they should need anything. It's nice to have a break. My kids take care of themselves and me. Wife pays the bills and I get a small allowance. There's another story, but it works well with us. I enjoy my game, but nothing but God comes before my family. Here's my creed; God, family, friends, work, hobbies. In that order, the first being most important always and the second is almost on the same level. Everything else depends on the first two. So yes, if needs be, I'd drop what I'm doing for anything my family wants. I play with a headset and microphone attached to my controller. The headset sits against my right ear and there is no earphone for the left, which is great because I can hear what's going on in the house that way. The developers were some smart cookies when they invented the single earphone headset.

So, there is what has been going on here lately. If you want to try out the game, I'll be there, somewhere to help..but not all the time. My gamer tag is xmaas for my cleric character. Still working on making my guy more buff. The more I get into the game, the more I learn about its intricacies. My guild is called SNAILS and we are under a larger conglomerate guild called THE ALLIANCE. My friends I've made on there know all about the game and can answer all kinds of game related questions. Currently I'm splitting my time between questing and helping other gamers in their quests. As a rare character, the cleric is in high demand because nobody wants to be just a healer. I'm happy being the field medic in all aspects of the game. I've thought about creating another character, but I've spent so much time buffing my guy up that I don't want to go through it all again.
The gear is hard to come by for a cleric like mine. I've had to get help making him strong enough to both defend himself and at the same time heal others. There are other types of clerics and hundreds of ways to build one. It's crazy, just crazy. It keeps my mind occupied while my physical self is broken.

IMG_3403.PNG
(Picture courtesy of google images)

Some people are part time players and they enjoy the game. Some people play regularly and some are on almost all the time. Some spend real currency each week, others- like me, have no extra money but still play hard and earn their armor, weapons, enchantments and so. I have found a few that have too much gear and are more than willing to help you get better by trading pieces you need to get better. A better cleric is in such high demand in game that everyone wants at least one on their team, but two is better. However few people want to just be a healer. We clerics have to depend upon the strength of others to get us through and they depend upon us to heal their broken bodies after a battle. It's a win win to have a tight knit group of wizards, clerics, warriors and thieves. Everyone has a special something they are good at in the game. Everyone must complete quests to get a little better. Not everyone works well with others, until they see the need. I've been very fortunate in the game.

Okay, well, that all for now. Wish my wife luck and happy birthday.
Much love and light to you and yours.

image.jpg
IMG_3201.PNG

P.S. Did you notice the whole "God" tie in? Lol, I just noticed. Being a Cleric and talking about God forcing me to take a break?

Sort:  

Hey. HI. This is like a two in one thing, bringing people of the gamer world and the Steemit world together in one place which in turn promotes Steemit to gamers from all around the world. We also made a Neverwinter Discord server back in the day and it is on the official subreddit Discord. We would LOVE to have you there.

@peopleofthenight's Discord: https://discord.gg/5sqeX95

Thank you for the invite. I'm not sure what I'll be getting into next, I may stop by. I've just been gaming so much that I haven't set aside time for much else other than family...I may stop by. I just don't know where I'm heading yet. Good to know that we have a place set aside for this, to chat and learn. I spent the majority of my day, today, finding treasure map locations with Flood up in The Sea of Moving Ice. That really burned up my brain cells. Thank you for stopping by.
Much love and light,
X

Ayyy, anytime, we'd love to have you share your experiences as well, surely

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36