Mosaic art in the 72nd Street Subway Station

in #steemusa6 years ago

Mosaic art in the 72nd Street Subway Station

Another post in my Art in the Subway series this post we visit the 72nd Street 2nd Ave Subway station

2nd Ave Line 69th Street Station-5.jpg


Sony A6500 18mm F3.5 1/30 ISO 320
Click here to view larger


When you first enter this station you may mistake the art on the walls for actual people until you notice some art not moving

2nd Ave Line 69th Street Station-2.jpg


Sony A6500 16mm F3.5 1/30 ISO 250
Click here to view larger


In this station the art is by Vik Muniz;s from Munich and the series of three dozen life like portraits are called perfect strangers

2nd Ave Line 69th Street Station-3.jpg


Sony A6500 16mm F3.5 1/300 ISO 320
Click here to view larger



Vik Muniz for this piece photographed 3 dozen characters which are representative of the quirky and unique people one may meet in the subway station.

2nd Ave Line 69th Street Station-6.jpg


Sony A6500 23mm F4 1/30 ISO 320
Click here to view larger


Vik Muniz is a Brazillian born Artist Based in NYC and Rio De Janiero and is renowned for using unusual and unconventional materials

2nd Ave Line 69th Street Station-7.jpg


Sony A6500 17mm F3.5 1/300 ISO 200
Click here to view larger



His art is featured in many Museums including the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Guggenheim Museum, and the Whitney Museum of American Art, and he was an Artistic director of the 2016 Paralympic Opening Ceremony in Brazil

2nd Ave Line 69th Street Station-8.jpg


Sony A6500 16mm F3/5 1/30 ISO 200
Click here to view larger


The Mosaics in this series at the subway station are made with Mosaic tile and glass

2nd Ave Line 69th Street Station-10.jpg


Sony A6500 16mm F3/5 1/300 ISO 250
Click here to view larger


I honestly think my photos do not fully give justice to these very cool Mosaics, but they do give a taste for the beautiful art in this station

this is post one of possibly three of this station


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.767450 lat -73.959503 long 69th Street NYC d3scr

Sort:  

Pretty amazing what some people can do with little pieces of pottery!! These are awesome pieces to see even if only in photos!! Thanks Jay!!

The talent in making these is incredible

Wow that's amazing! Great artist. One day I want to be featured like this. I just hope I get to do another mural soon. Haha.

I thought so as well I hope to see your work on display like this sometime :)

Your camera never ceases to amaze us with your special photo shots.... By the way, the only thing I recognize from what your write about your camera is the "Sony" part... everything else is too advanced for me lol.

Thanks :) i have fun taking the photos

I at one stage didnt understand all those numbers either lOL

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 13 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Great post @tattoodjay. Thank you for sharing it with us.
As you are mostly passionate about photos, I have an accound where I share my travels @lemon-shot if interested ;).
Take care !

Man, that's awesome.

I really love the art in these stations they are so cool

I love these kind of stuff you will only find on tube stations... always worth paying attention when travelling the world... I remember when being in London( UK) their underground was quite a suprise all the time :) Unfortunately didn´t take any pics that time...

I love them also these new stations are awesome

I to travelleed for many years and saw many sights that would have made great photos but I was not into photography then

I think you made a wonderful job by taking photos of those mosaics. Those artworks are amazing.

Thanks so ice of your to say

NYC has really improved it's drab subway stations. Bravo.

Some are still very drab but the 2nd ave line stations are impressive for sure

These mosaic artworks are amazing. I could not decide which one I loved most. I liked them all!

I had the same problem thats why I didnt pick a favorite lOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61374.19
ETH 2885.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55