Art in the 63rd Street Subway StationsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemusa7 years ago (edited)

Art in the 63rd Street Subway Station

Over the winter months since I wasn't getting out to much on the streets getting new shots I decided to visit some of the subway stations in the city that have some very cool art work

I was told the new 2nd Ave stations had some beautiful Mosaic style art work so I made a few detours on my way to work over a period of time to visit all the stations and this will be the first of a series of posts showing some of this art work

63rd  Street Station_-4.jpg

Sony A6500 16mm F8 1/200 ISO 100
Click image to view larger




I am starting with some shots of the 63rd Street Station, these mosaics are beautiful and I am not sure my photos really do them justice, but I wanted to share them anyway.

63rd  Street Station_-3.jpg

Sony A6500 24mm F8 1/100 ISO 100
Click image to view larger




This station has mosaic art by Jean Shin, she used archived photos of the Second Avenue and Third Avenue Elevated trains

63rd  Street Station_-2.jpg

Sony A6500 24mm F8 1/100 ISO 100
Click image to view larger




And passengers from that time to create compositions in Ceramic Tile. Glass Mosaic and Lamintaed glass

63rd  Street Station_.jpg

Sony A6500 16mm F8 1/200 ISO 100
Click image to view larger



I think her work in this station is so cool to see, if you live in NYC I would recommend visiting this station just to see this cool Art

63rd  Street Station_-5.jpg

Sony A6500 16mm F8 1/200 ISO 100
Click image to view larger


Which was your favorite piece of these ones I shared is this last one


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts Or Chat with us on in Gamma Syndicate of the alliance if you wish to join Gamma Syndicate on Discord**


JJ steemit banner w steemusa.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!!steemitworldmap 40.764737 lat -73.996377 long 63rd Street Subway Stations d3scr

Sort:  

Cool, there are many great artworks in subways around the world. Hidden away to some degree, and often not noticed… but some fascinating stuff!

Yes so often people are in such a rush I am sure they don’t even notice them which Is kind of sad

Absolutely, and it's the same with some of the musicians you find down there. Some talented folk, but again the average commuter bustles on past…

Yes absolutely Generally when I am out shooting in the city is to early for the musicians I seldom see them

Wow! These mosaics are absolutely beautiful! I wonder how long it took them to do this with all those small pieces of tile?

I did wonder the same but I couldn’t find any info about that

How cool. First of all thank you for detouring and getting some amazing shots to share with us. They are stunning. Your photos are perfect by the way and capture the artwork perfectly. I personally love the second last of thr three children. It makes me think about how they are all standing straight with hands in pockets, how the ways of the world have changed. Great job. Thanks for sharing.

thanks for your visit
I love your take on the three children

Wow what a great art, think about how much labour is spent creating it inch by inch, the last one by far is my favourite!

I would love to know how long it took to make all these mosaics the detail is incredible

Third one is my favourite! The depth perception is excellent XD

Thanks for your visit
The detail is amazing fir sure

It is real good work. Photograph type quality in mosaic.

I really loved this stations art
It is so cool and detailed

Those are all beautiful mosaics. I'm glad you took the time to shoot them. I have photos of some odd, interesting artwork I'll post soon from a station on the Red Line here in LA.

Cool I look forward to seeing your posts

The 2nd above stations are all pretty cool there will be a few more posts coming up of them

Those mosaics are friggen amazing man! The skill in getting the right shade and shape in the right space is quite remarkable.

Ohh yes absolutely amazing work
The second avenue stations are all pretty damn cool to visit and I will share more posts if them

These pictures are beautiful.. I just love art.
Thabks for sharing this @tattoodjay

Thanks kindly

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=art-in-the-63rd-street-subway-station


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57959.67
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44