What do you value most?

in #steemusa6 years ago

What are the things in life that you value most? Is this a question that most of us even think about on a regular basis. The "Grant study" was a 75year study of 268 Harvard sophomores. It was run together with the " Gluek Study which included 456 disadvantaged Boston city youths. You can visit the Wikipedia link here if you are interested in reading it.

It seems that over the years the participant's values changed. In the first part of their lives, they valued money, success, and fame over all else. At the end of 75 years, the people that were the happiest and lived the longest did so because they valued family and connection above all else.

So what do you value? Most people value honesty except but often lie in certain situations. When their girlfriend looks fat in her new sweater and they tell her she looks fine or they tell their boyfriend that he was the best lover that they have ever had. What they are really saying is that they value honesty but, they value not hurting their partners feeling more. So lets go deeper. Do they really value being liked by their partner more than risking being not liked? Its also possible that some other value has taken priority over honesty.

Do you value family and connection and have taken a job in a different state or country because it was better for your career?

I am not picking on people. I am simply saying that most people think they know what they value but the truth is that they have never really deeply explored their values.

Grows.jpg

I have found that when I explored my values, I had found some that just didn't serve me. In fact, they were not even my values. They were thrust on to me by society. Does this sound familiar. To have a perfect life all you need to do is to go to school, get good grades, go to college, get a good paying job, get married, have 2.5 kids, a house with a white fence and a dog. What a bunch of crap!!!!! Yes that is nice but not necessary for success

I have found through having a practice of daily gratitude that human connection is all that I really need to be content in my life. Its nice to have things but I don't really need them in order to be satisfied. I used to think that unless I did have external things like money, fame and women I couldn't be satisfied. I could never seem to get enough of anything. I always needed more more more.

What have you found when you explored your values? Which values had priority over others? How has your life unfolded following your system of values? We are not responsible for the values we have adopted from others around us however, we are responsible for the values we consciously choose to have.

sostrin_red.png

Sort:  

very good post dear

What a wonderful post! I loved reading through the comments, too! I do value family and friendships, they are the reason I will be shivering in Wisconsin this winter instead of wintering somewhere warmer. But that is all part of liking myself, living in a way that fills me with joy and makes me happy to be me.

I value when people are sincere. Everytime and everywhere. Thanks for the post!

Well, this really got me thinking! I believe I do value family the most even through the ups and downs. I don't see them every day and some I haven't seen in a year due to location but I value them all the same. I also value true friendship which is "truly" a rare commodity. I think if you have a true friendship then honesty should come naturally. The one thing I do think I should value more is myself. I'm working on not being so hard on myself even for things beyond my control. Goes back to my childhood and, unfortunately, is still with me today. A thought provoking post @sostrin! I hope you and yours had a Happy Thanksgiving! Love and Light to you!

I hope that you had a happy thanksgiving as well. I think that valuing yourself should be the number 1 priory on the value list

I think I may agree with you on that! I love your photo by the way!!

I have been pleasantly surprised by your posts. Compels one to take a moment or three and give some thought to it.

Oh, my thoughts... I embrace an attitude of gratitude because this is the only way I can live with myself.

Money is nice, but, truly... how much do you need to be happy? I found that I didn't need much, there were other things that became more important to me like health, the innocent love of a child, sunshine upon my face. Doing the better good and integrating that into my soul.

Upped and Steemed

Its an interesting and complex question. I will say I have always valued not being very susceptible to the pressures of society to travel the set trajectory that you listed.

Great post to reflect on ones experiences... without values there's no purpose... We are thankful to experience our success and be able to pay it forward daily in sharing them with the community...#originalworks #mggpayitforwardcamp #familyman #family_values #steemusa #freedom

beautiful pic

Well said. Certainly matters that we all should take the time to consider deeply throughout our lives.

My parents are most valuable for me other than anything in this world and i always strive to make them happy, what they have sacrificed for me i'll never forget that.

Great post, thanks for sharing.

Have a great day.
#COF

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15