My Whoville Choir - Full Show!

in #steemusa6 years ago

OK, it is not really the WHOLE show... You just can't really quite have the "whole" show without being there in person. Our local online media kindly recorded and posted all the music that was performed, but there is something the camera just cannot pick up: The love that fills the room for this event.

This show is done in a big metal barn, also used for the County Fair exhibits. We spend hours and hours and hours decorating it. We rent the best sound system we can afford so everyone can hear us. We bake cookies, thousands of cookies, to serve to our family and friends at intermission. We borrow chairs from all the local churches and the school. We PACK the building, literally standing room only, every year. While our cookies ARE delicious, and our singing is... lets go with "joyous..." what brings people flocking to our show is the love we feel for each other, for our community, and for that tiny package of TNT waving her arms up front, aka "the director." Deb is like a suitcase nuke, hard to believe how much energy is in such a small object.

When I first moved to this area the gentleman in the front row was my neighbor and he invited me to come watch the show. I was CHARMED, and although the official name is "The Upper Country Singers" it is the Whoville Choir to me. I always finish the show feeling like a cross between Cindy-Lu Who and the newly big-heartened Grinch, something innocent revitalized and something cynical quelled...

I invite you to really listen to the words of the last song, it is an old Irish blessing and it was delivered from the bottom of our little Who hearts to our neighbors all over the world.

Special thanks to Alex Chavarria who covers our show every year, and this year even joined in the fun. He makes a fine Santa! Oh, and if you are looking for ME, I am right behind the director most of the time lol!

Sort:  

Now I know why I haven't seen you around for a bit, was getting a bit worried. Christmas time is such a magical wand for bringing people together to celebrate in chorus with one another, there's no other time of year quite like it. I was in near tears of happiness watching my grandson at his schools Christmas concert, oops, I forgot, the grinches have stolen that magical word, it's now a holiday concert, non the less it brings tears of joy watching everyone come together in unison. I keep telling my kid who recorded it to send it to my email so I can try and download it to see if I can post it here. Good to see you again...and Merry Christmas...just in case you get busy and disappear before Christmas.

💖
Yeah, it has just been craziness for many months now! I was stunned at my grandson's concert, they were allowed to sing CHRISTMAS songs and they did a patriotic one! Idaho is still a bit of a sanity haven, although it is fighting what appears to be a losing battle...
MERRY CHRISTMAS to you and yours, and may your New Year be so blessed you lose count!

Awesome!

the newly big-heartened Grinch, something innocent revitalized and something cynical quelled

Couldn't describe the holidays any better than that!

Thanks for your kind words and support!

Beautiful, Claire, and thanks for putting a big smile on my face (-:

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Congratulations @fishyculture! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 53000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 54000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77