America, America America, Don't Let Anyone Tell Us We Aren't the Best!

in #steemusa7 years ago (edited)

Let Me Start by saying I will be one of the first people to criticize the United States

(Already hearing hypocrite). Just hold on. *Disclaimer I do not think the United States people are better then people of other nations.

Our country has done some truly abrasive, manipulative and tragic things in our history. I do not blind myself to it. Denying that this is a part of our history, part of any countries history, is a disservice to progressive thought and true reasoning.

I am also willing to go the distance saying this country is the best damn one in the whole world.

flag.png

Let's start with a little history and the fundamental nature of civilization . (don't roll the eyes) Since the very beginning of history, civilizations, cultures, people have been eradicating "weaker" ones. Weaker being militarily. The "superior" power then takes over land resources and the people of the conquered group and forces either subjugation or conversion. This brutal practice has seen the rise and fall of many civilizations over humanities existence. What is interesting is if one is to look at the great conquers that have had lasting reigns. (I'm thinking the Persian empire and Holy Roman Empire) They have done so, by converting the areas they conquer significantly less then comparative conquering powers throughout history. Certainly there was some conversion, but not complete genocide or evisceration of a people or culture. Religious tolerance and diversity of both opinion and people flourished in these empires. under these empires, the regions and people prospered in ways that weren't achieved before. There were many terrible practices, but we are referring in general terms. There will always be terrible practices and people in this world. There will be leaders and there will be the proletariat. The only negotiation is how much power and wealth the leader shares with the proletariat. The U.S.A has shared it's power that hasn't been seen before. This is a good thing in case that isn't obvious. There is a wonderful short video on youtube by GPGrey that breaks this down government structures perfectly.

You're Thinking Get to the point already! picard-facepalm.jpg

So why is the U.S so great!?

Because we are the most generous ruling class that has ever existed in history. I say we, but mainly the structure of our government facilitates this. Having a democracy forces those in power to share the wealth among a greater number of people other in other government structures, because if they don not to a satisfactory degree, they are voted out. The United States has conquered most of the world, whether it be militarily, politically or economically. We have become insanely wealthy because of this. Think of the wealth of the romans and Persians. Of course there is still poverty, but the majority of citizens of this country enjoy wealth not seen most others.

What About Europe!?

This is the first thing I hear whenever I assert the U.S is the best. People point to European nations where they earn higher, enjoy more social services, better basic education, etc, but those nations are often only able to do this because of the military stability the United States has brought to the world. These nations have comparatively small military budgets and rely on the U.S and Nato for protection. These countries have enjoyed this, along with cheap easier trade. They are able to get goods cheaper then smaller population countries have historically. Increased and cheaper trade to build wealth and improvement for their citizens. This is great, but It fails to account that this has been enabled by the U.S and the western unity it has formed. Russia would have seized these nations and leached them of that wealth if they were not under the U.S. umbrella. This is why I say the U.S. is such a generous power. Militarily we could take more resources from these countries. We could impose our culture forcefully (we passively impose this). We could impose direct rule (we have on rare occasions), but for the most part and when compared to other powers, we let the country be.

This is where I think a lot of people misunderstand the reason Trump speaks out against NATO and our allies. (Side note: I do not agree with much of Trumps stances, I'm fairly certain he doesn't understand what he is doing, but many other the people advising him do). He says that other countries need to pay, they need to give the U.S more money for protection. That is basically what it breaks down to because Americans are paying for other nations protection, and these countries are flourishing because of it. I believe the current administration is trying to flex America's muscle and leverage to bring wealth back into the nation from our allies. How this will play out, we will see. From a United States PR perspective it is bad, a more graceful and articulate commander and chief could accomplish this so much better, but I understand the goal.

"It is better to be feared then loved". A quote I completely agree with, but it is a balancing act.

There is more then one reason we are the best.

The other reason America is the greatest nation on the planet, is the diversity. There is a unparalleled diversity of culture, people and opinions is this nation. So many different views, opinions and freedom to speak them, it breeds progress. It forces different trains and schools of thought that can be lackluster elsewhere. There is something for everyone here and the fact these are able to coexist (mostly peacefully) is remarkable. Other empires in history and powers today like China and Russia would never allow rivals or domestic enemies to take control of the nation. Yet, this happens every four-eight years in the U.S and makes us better because of it. I could go into some of the shortfalls and negatives about this and more the U.S., but were all about love here!

America is still the land of opportunity, freedom and hope. What America has done for the world and its citizens is unseen in history. Sure, the path was bloody and tragic events have been carried out in our name, but we need to hold our heads high and be proud to be a American. I hope that never changes, and I hope every person continues to make this country better and with it bring the world together.

I love that there is something here for everyone, you just have to find it. Thanks @steemusa for this idea and contest to get the page kicked off! I hope that this page can be for discussion about all things U.S. and more positive posts. There is a lot of negative, and certainly problems, but sometimes we need to remember what is great about this country and the great, diverse set of individuals in it, regardless of differences.

Sort:  

Your title is easy to criticize; but ultimately you blog is very nuanced. Very nice=)

Thank you. Yah, the title I'm sure turned some people off right away, but oh well.

Awesome post. Keep up the good work. The title of the post had me interested stayed for the read. hope to see more soon!

Thanks! My viewpoint on the world can be rather nuanced. Glad you enjoyed it!

Preaching to the choir here!!! Go USA!

Most of the countries that people point to for there social programs are going bankrupt. Many people point to Sweden as a shining example, but even in recent years many social programs have had to be cut or revamped becaus they are running out of there vast financial reserves. I've talked to an American family who moved to England for 4 years and said the medical system over their is terrible and that they much prefer the medical system in the US.

Haha, that's all soapboxing I'll do for now. Thanks for sharing your post!

Thanks! Yah, they are having some issues for sure. If you enjoyed this post, you should read mine a couple weeks ago about China gaining and debt. That's interesting to hear, I will have to look into that, because I really know very little about other countries healthcare. England is in some serious trouble and I'm afraid it's going to get a lot worse.

Believe it or not, I'm from Pakistan and we've got better and much more affordable healthcare here than compared to the United States. I would know because I am an American citizen of Pakistani origin. I've got multiple health issues and having spent the better part of my childhood and young adult life in the United States, I can say with great confidence that the healthcare I've received in Pakistan is far superior to the healthcare I received in the United States. Being able to afford healthcare (thankfully) has never been an issue for me. Even if that meant paying thousands of dollars out of pocket.

And, I can talk about the healthcare system in other countries such as Kuwait and China and still tell you that the quality of doctors and sincerity that exists in Pakistan is nowhere else to be found. We hear all kinds of negative news about Pakistan, some of which is true, but I'm here to provide you guys with an accurate picture of my country.

Well, first of all, I consider myself to be a global citizen, but after that I also consider myself to be an American and Pakistani because both countries have given me a lot and no matter how much I give back in return, it will never be enough. Hope that makes sense!

Huh, that's very interesting, I never knew! Thanks for sharing that, because it is hard to get firsthand accounts. I wonder why that is the case, but whatever the case it's good to hear. You're right, too often we don't hear much positive about Pakistan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43