How i kicked the smoking habbit 🚭

in #steemtuner6 years ago (edited)

15MKT0651-postImage_Kick-the-habit.jpg
Source

Everybody has bad habits. Everybody. Now granted, some people have less than others and some people’s bad habits are more grating than those of others, but we all have them.


In reply to:

DQmV2ECTkb2QTPjgb6Ji77mhivtgS8zSqGM7SnDPs94T57z.png

https://steemit.com/steemtuners/@sherbanu/weekly-contest-episode-2-habit-of-yours-you-want-to-remove-and-what-steps-will-you-take-to-get-rid-of-them-and-winner-announce


I had a serious bad habbit that's I telling in this content... it was my real life story. Keep calm & read the article attentively if you have time in your hand.

i specially wanna say thanks to @sherbanu for arrange a splendid contest & you will find all of your requirement here in this post.

IMG_20180520_055141.jpg



I was a Chain smoker. Some days would be worse, because I would literally have one right after the other.
Some days wouldn’t be so bad, and I would only have 10 or so.
But, as a chain smoker who was obviously addicted to nicotine, days were ALWAYS like this.



alarm2.jpg

My alarm goes off, so I immediately get up out of bed to shut it off. At that same moment, I think about smoking. Instead, I jump back into bed for a bit and rest some more. But the initial thought of smoking does cross my mind. When I do finally get up, a cigarette is the first thing I reach for. I don’t even go to the bathroom first, I grab a smoke instead. I usually give myself 30 minutes or so until I have to get in the shower and get ready for work. In that span of 30 minutes, I’ll smoke at least another cigarette, 2 at the most. So that makes 3 now before I’ve even showered. Of course after I’ve showered and gotten dressed, I’ll have another. For some reason, the fresh feeling of being all nice and clean makes me want to smoke. It’s a big trigger, don’t ask me why, it just is.
So, off to work I go. I open the door, leave my apartment, lock the door behind me, and light up another one. It’s fun to smoke on my walk to the bus stop. I like to think about my day and what’s going to potentially happen at the same time. If I time it right, the bus will arrive within 5 or so minutes of me getting to the stop. But, if I somehow miss it, or it arrives too early and leaves without me, that will give me a reason to smoke another one while I wait for the next bus to come. Eventually it arrives, and off to work I go. How many have I had so far?
I’ve had 6 cigarettes already, and it’s not even noon yet.
butts1.jpg

Pretty disgusting, isn’t it?

I get off the bus and have another.
I’ve got about a half mile walk to work, so deep down I know I can have up to 3 more if I really wanted to. Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t. So, because I had so many before work, I have enough nicotine in my blood to last for a couple hours. What does that mean? It means I can work for 3 or 4 hours and not intensely crave nicotine. I’ll be fine for my work shift, but I will get cranky towards the end of it. But as soon as I get the chance, I’m going outside to have another. I don’t think I smoke too much, only 1 or 2 at the most while at work. That isn’t bad, right? I see others have more than me, so I’m OK.
Before you know it, work is finished. How many have I had now? I’ve had 11, and now it’s night time. I leave work and immediately light up another. Finally, the bus comes, and back home I go. When I get dropped off, I have a cigarette on the walk back to my apartment. It’s the natural thing to do. What’s the running total now? I’ve had 14 cigarettes.

images (1).jpeg
Source

I open the door to my apartment, I light up a cigarette. I may even have one before I go to the bathroom. NOW I’ll change my clothes. I’m hungry, I just had a big meal, so a cigarette seems like the natural thing to do. It’s getting late and I’m tired, so I think I’m going to go to bed. I’m going to surf the Internet for a little while longer, though, so I’ll have another cigarette. OK, I’m done for the night. I’m tired and ready for bed.
So I’ll smoke one last one while I put on my pajamas and turn off all the lights. It was a rough day at work, and I need some rest. How many did I have today?
I had, 17 cigarettes. It was just an average day of my life.

But It’s now been over 2 & half years since my last cigarette, and I have no doubts that I’ll never have one again. And it’s not that I don’t struggle, think about them, or want them. In fact, while I was working on this article, my brain was thinking so much about cigarettes that I started having intense cravings and dreams urging me to start smoking again but I will never do that again.


Smoking is dangerous it's known to all


images (3).jpeg
Source


We spend a lot of time talking about diet and exercise here on Nerd Fitness, but if you’re a smoker, quitting smoking is the best thing that you can do to level up your fitness. Now, I know what you’re saying: “Oh, please, not another boring article telling me the same things about how smoking is bad for me and that I should stop.”

I’m not going to do that to you...

It’s not a secret that smoking is bad for you. The box is littered with warnings and it’s not a disputed fact that smoking causes a magnitude of health problems, including 90% of all lung cancer. It’s also not a disputed fact that it’s expensive and that it makes everything around you reek. I could write an article all about all of the negatives of smoking, and it would only cover the very tip of the iceberg. And I wouldn’t be teaching you anything new. So if there are so many negatives about smoking, we are all very well informed about them, and we all know that we should quit, why don’t we?


How and Why I Quit Smoking:


133aee374b382b6c0668d6832e7c4080.jpg
Source


On a few occasions, I had tried quitting smoking. I never lasted more than a week but this all changed on one evening in 2015 when I had my last cigarette and quit smoking for good. At that time I had been complaining about pains in my chest when breathing. After listening to my complaints, I remember my girlfriend saying that she didn't want to lose me from cancer. Upon hearing this, a spell seemed to come over me, and I became very afraid and started to perspire. I began to associate cigarettes with the pains in my chest and cancer, and I actually convinced myself that I would get cancer and die if I smoked another cigarette. I threw away the cigarettes I had left, and I have never had another one. That was on June 30, 2015.


Better life and good health after quitting smoking

images (2).jpeg
Source

So, you’ve quit smoking – what now?

You’ve thrown away your cigarette packet and spent the last few days or weeks smoke-free. Congratulations, you’ve already started on the road to a healthier smoke-free life!

The challenge now is to stay motivated and not to fall off the path to quitting permanently. It’s worth the challenge: You’ll enjoy life more and have better health when you quit permanently.
After quitting smoking you’ll probably feel like a cigarette from time to time (or perhaps a lot of the time) in the early days. Most people still have the odd craving 6 months after they quit, and many people fail to resist the cravings and take up smoking again. It’s important to consciously strategise to ensure you’ll have the will power to say ‘no’ if cigarette cravings rear their ugly heads from time to time.
unnamed (10).gif
Source


FOLLOW ME:


ZzuiSwAf.gif



JOIN OUR DISCORD CHANNEL BY CLICKING ⏬


fUEFtf8m.gif


Sort:  

Quit smoking is you miss the cigarette, continue smoking is you miss the life...

Yes i agree with you.

Learnable post.smoking is injuries for human health.

Pretty much happy to see your blog. If there is a bad habit you have to left. Otherswise this will turn you into a shit!

Thank you dear brother, your inspiration is the main key of my blogging. @mdshahin786

Take my heartiest Congratulations on your success of quitting the bad habit! @sifatsarker Mashallah!

Also congrats for the strong willpower you have and always will have Innshallah!

Truly if we think about our surrounding nearest dearest one we feel the importance of remain healthy. Not only for yourself we are born to live.
Glad you feel that and reverse back, choose the healthiest way to live.

Definitely, your story is true motivation for many. I will request them all having such habits truly hazardous to health.... Please think about it.... Move back.... Your life has such importance to people surrounds you!!

Thank you for your warm wishes & nice complement ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55515.17
ETH 2501.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30