[POEM] Marriage

in #steemtrail6 years ago


Image Source

Marriage

Many men and women court for months or years to obtain me
They want me so they pursue the formalities that come before me
There are those that will do anything to have me
Then again there are those that treat me with utter disrepect
Cherish me and honor me all the days of your life

Some cities offer me for a dime
They do not value the true meaning of love
Men and women run to their buildings to get me
Little do they know I am sacred and should be treated as such
Cherish me and honor me all the days of your life

I can be destroyed by mere wandering eyes
An unfaithful heart holds the power to kill me instantly
Lust and power are my two biggest enemies
They are so easily entertained for a mere moment of pleasure
Cherish me and honor me all the days of your life

Heed my warning and listen to my words if you have ears
Do not for a second think I am just another procedure
I hold the power to join two people in love and honor
If you have wisdom you will respect me and value me
Cherish me and honor me all the days of your life

Men and women experience me more than once in their lifetime
I should not be rushed by any means
Study me and get to know my ways if you are wise
Fools rush in to experience me and live with the regret afterwards
Cherish me and honor me all the days of your life


Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75