You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Coffee and Philosophy: Honor

in #steemtrail7 years ago

I particularly like your thoughts on doing the right thing, even when no one is watching. I would add that following though with commitments, is a part of that, too.
A few years back, I built a straw bale home for a client. It was an experimental design, involving a timber frame structure, with bales as the insulative in-fill wall. The project ended up going over budget and significantly over our time-lines.
I had committed myself to complete the home for my clients and to learn some new building techniques. Money was running short and frustrations were mounting. It was difficult to stay positive, but something inside me kept me going.
I am a builder with integrity and when commit to a project, I see it through.... no matter what.
In the end, we managed to finish their home, even though I was working for free the last month. It was hard yes, but I walked away with my integrity intact and some lessons learned. Had I not completed the project, the cost in personal terms, would have been unbearable.
Doing the right thing isn't always easy, but the rewards last a lifetime.

Sort:  

I hear you on that!

Fabulous lesson.. your tenacity imbued the walls with the strength needed to go through life within the home, no matter the frustrations and agonies one comes through. Great gift you gave your clients x

Thank you so much!
Its a gift that keeps on giving, particularly if people reading this, are inspired to act with honour, as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64506.46
ETH 3417.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50