You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Coffee and Philosophy: Expectations

in #steemtrail7 years ago
  • Perception is a persons reality.
  • Perception is everything. Doesn't matter what you say or think if someone is latched onto their perception that is all there is for them.
  • I realize that most often those with these hard held beliefs (that are their unwavering perception ) are either 1) young, 2) emotionally immature or low emotional intelligence. Those two are sometimes inclusive but not always.
  • I continue every day to expand my consciousness. Try to think outside of myself
    After all there are just so many other things going on in this world for us to stay latched into a single minded perception
Sort:  

I also believe that people with hard held beliefs often have low emotional intelligence because I was like that myself.

I only recently started exploring my lack of emotional intelligence and I think it has helped me grow. I used to think that I got riled up during arguments because I was right. What I didn't realize is that I was getting so riled up because of my delicate ego.

Understanding this tendency in myself helps me think a little more rationally. I also noticed that I am learning again because I am not jumping to conclusions all the time.

Yes this is true regarding those with less than perfect emotional intelligence. I still struggle with how i react to emotions. Imagine two overlapping circles

  • one side represents the emotional side abd the other the logical side.
  • when we react with primarily, if not all, with emotions then we are essentially wearing our heart on our sleeves.
  • this is where count to ten comes in. We've got to learn to react as logically as we can with that delicate amount of emotional reactivity . That's where the two circles over lap. I may do an article on the circles soon. Stay tuned and full STEEM ahead

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49