Out of the Box: I Received my set of Steem Trading Cards from The Old Dog @kus-knee!

This morning, there was a cool surprise in the mail for me:

Envelope
Look what arrived in the mail....!

Logos
Mail from real Steemians!

OK, so it wasn't actually a BOX (but it sounded better in the heading!), but it was a very cool looking envelope from Switzerland, and when I saw the word "STEEM" at the upper left corner and the @kus-knee, @airmatti and @steemtradecards as the "senders," I realized what this was...

The set of Steem Trade Cards I had won in The Old Dog's cool @steembay auction a little while back!

I'm a big fan of SteemBay because it is an initiative that is actually helping to build a sort of "internal economy" here on Steemit, allowing us all to trade goods and services with each other, using our own Steem/SBD currencies, without the need to convert anything to BTC or fiat money.

In the long run, I believe this is a great positive for the community, because it gives the Steem token an economic reason for existing, which is NOT something very many of the thousands of cryptocurrencies can actually say for themselves!

So, here's what was actually inside the envelope:

Inside
A package with the cards and a small explanatory thank you note

Cards
And there's the set of 10 beautifully designed cards, featuring some of our most prominent community members!

And last, but not least, here's "proof of receipt of cards," which should also serve well as an explanation for why I don't do selfies!

Selfie
Proof of cards!

You can actually get your own set because @kus-knee is having another SteemBay auction for more Steem Trading Cards RIGHT now. Go check out the auction here and place your bid... and support this really cool and innovating Steemit initiative!

And here's the kicker: Because of the very interesting way the auction is set up, you might even be able to get a set of cards for FREE! 

But you'll have to check out The Old Dog's page for that!

Thank you Old Dog for putting on this awesome auction, and for being a driving force behind the Steem Trading Cards!

How about YOU? Are you familiar with the Steem Trading Cards? Have you ever heard of SteemBay? Have you ever traded or bought "physical goods" through Steemit, connecting with another community member? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!


Animated banner created by @zord189

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180518 10:43 PDT

Sort:  

I’m thrilled that they arrived. Thanks so much for the great review and photos.

I’d also love to see SteemBay grow and flourish!

They are beautiful!

It's also a great initiative from a community building perspective; trading cards are a pretty big deal and if Steemit is around for a while the cards could easily "get legs" as a collectible, especially if there are "updates" to bring the information on older cards current to the time of printing.

I hope SteemBay grows; sadly they are not getting much support or interest from STINC...

... makes me think they probably need to issue a SteemBay SMT... then Ned would probably suddenly get all hot and bothered! Yes, that was a snide remark, sorry....

Oh nice of steemit. But i am a Nigerian and i don't know if i purchase a good on steembay, they will get it to me all the way to Nigeria?

We mailed two sets last week so let’s hope for the best!

I imagine they should be OK. In my "daily life" I sell old postcards and stamps to collectors and I don't recall losing anything I've mailed to Nigeria. The "dodgy" mail destinations are usually in Central and South America and certain spots in Asia.

Usually people will say where they are from, and if it will cost extra to ship internationally or not.

Hi Peter,
I did heard about it but never did see the them.
Do you think that people are actually tranding them?
Cheer,
Peter 😁

Peter, it's very early days at this point. I think when/if The Old Dog gets up around 75-100+ people on cards it'll likely become more of a widely known thing.

this is something new to me i need to check it out :)

That's good to know about this thing had no idea about that will try.

Oh nice of steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63607.88
ETH 2506.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59