Easy Ways How NOT To Make Steem

in #steemtips7 years ago (edited)

There are plenty of ways one can get his hands on some precious Steem tokens. Being a good author is probably the most effective and easy way, curation rewards account for about 25% of the rewards pool, running a witness node can also be profitable, you can also participate in various Steem related projects, giveaways, games, challenges etc., but I still come across so many misleading posts, especially by new steemians, explaining how to increase the value or your content in all the wrong ways. I want to highlight all the time-consuming, unproductive things you can do how not to make some extra Steem. Let's kick it off.

1tnlwp.jpg

Faucets.

Yes, the spammy sites you waste your time solving captchas while infecting your computer with malware, viruses and, yes, dick pics. You do get some free satoshi but it's an insignificant amount. You would need to spend a day or two just to cover the transaction fees. Wasting your time isn't the best way to add value, in fact, it's the worst scenario. Your time on this planet is limited, don't waste it solving captchas for next to nothing.

Upvote trending posts with almost no Steem Power.

When you start out, you have a fairly small amount of Steem Power in your wallet. This means you don't really affect the rewards pool that much. Sure, curating is profitable, not as much as writing a post but still, it's something. If you just upvote on the trending posts you may get a small amount of Steem but just upvoting will hardly get you anywhere. Once you have more Steem Power, (at least 500) the curation rewards start to become worth your vote. Save your upvotes for your favorite authors, they will appreciate you more. When you upvote a trending post you do a favor to the author, but he most certainly will not return the favor. Remember a minnow has about 10 valuable posts a day, use them wisely!

Ask for upvotes.

This is probably the worst scenario. There is an increasing army of new steemians who flood the blockchain with meaningless comments like: good post, follow me and give an upvote. Be very wary when asking for votes, it's really annoying and you can get flagged, especially if you put the same comment on multiple posts. If you flood my posts you will get flagged. Don't need to thank me.

Spam, upvote yourself, drain the rewards pool.

I see almost every third new steemian adopting this strategy. Some new authors like to paste their absolutely void of thoughtful comments on multiple posts, saying something like 'nice post', they upvote their selfs and the put it on 200 posts each day to try to drain the rewards pool. First of all, it's a dumb strategy because most of them have almost no Steem Power and secondly they get flagged so bad when a dolphin or a whale finds out about them. Here's an example.

Pay for votes.

There is a good reason why the powerful accounts don't use these services. They are actually very harmful to the Steemit economy. Why would you want to give money to the rich? For me, it looks like a desperate move, from both sides, the whales who offer their votes for money and the minnows who pay for them. It's corrupting the system and I don't see how one can make a considerable profit from this or add any value to the platform besides selfishly stacking their wallets in the expense of other steeminas. Remember, when someone pays for a vote, the vote takes the money from​ the rewards pool, that was​​ supposed​ to be distributed​ among the best authors, not the ones who pay for​ them. I don't upvote posts that pay for votes, why should I waste my voting power, after all?

Mine the cloud.

Say no to could mining, it's simply not profitable. The sooner you realize it the better. The Steem token will be worth much more than what you will put in a mining service right now. Investing your money in Steem Power is way more profitable, but don't take my word for it, invest some money to mine some, wait a year and see it yourself. If you want to contribute​ to the network you can run a witness node.

Be someone else.

You can be as fake as you like, pretend you have millions of followers on Youtube, say you are a celebrity, as soon as you get caught all you payouts and reputation will be killed.

Memorize account​ names by heart when sending them money.

Don't write account names by hand when sending them Steem. Sometimes a little typo mistake can go a long way. If you misspell the address when sending any cryptocoin it's lost forever or worse it will go in the hands of someone else. Always copy-paste addresses and triple check if all the data you put is correct before you hit Send.

I'm sure there are plenty of other ways how not ​make steem, please share your experiences If you think of some.

Sort:  

I agree with you, @rossenpavlov !

Spamming has become an adventurous trend.

People who spam are more likely to be Unfollowed by the loyal followers, writers, influencers. While we, at steemit should bring the joy to engage all along with valuable sharing and bestow like bits of help. That result will be jaw dropping.

We should focus more on quality; not on the outcomes in a direct manner.

Whether you read a Daily Newspaper or a Blog, all remains the same except some distractions of spammers. So, now it's time to make most of the community and for sure, the community will make you earn passively.

Thank you for taking the time to bring the discrepancies out of the head and letting people aware of that.

And thank you for your time, and reading it.
I'm sure that if we all come together we can make this place really valuable.

@rossenpavlov down voted and pummeled my account into the ground for no good reason. Looks like he has spent the last year trashing peoples accounts. Can you all please help me and down vote this guy's content to let him know how it feels

I'm still new to steem and this was a very enlightening post about how the economy here works. I'll be taking a lot of these suggestions to heart. Thank you for the post.

Sure, thank you also. I like to help new members.

What a useful post! I absolutely agree. I have used paid services for upvotes a little but stopped using them because it takes away my money and doesn't pay me anything.

Thanks for this post. I am glad that I am following almost all of the things I should be following as per this post. The lessons are real and I will have to resteem this for my followers. It would be unfair not to do that.

Hey, thank you. I agree this is useful​ to new members​. Half of the game is knowing what not to do.

I have been here on STEEMIT for one year now and with this posting I now know I need to add to my STEEM Power today ! I am having more fun being active on STEEMIT during the past couple of months and I realize how much time I wasted by not being active and Powering UP. Thank you

We're still in the early days :-). I'll keep flagging the bullshit and everyone else will too. Eventually lessons will be learned.

Yes, that's my "evil" plan :)

Thanks for your guide. I'm sure the best way to get profit from Steemit is to create really valuable content. Everybody has something interesting to offer the others. I'm new here, but I know my way and I follow that. Good luck @rossenpavlov!

It's all about attitude​ :)

Exactly, attitude is everything!

I found the link you posted to the person who was repeatedly commenting so funny hello...hello....hello good post thanks for sharing.

Yeah, it's just sad.

I agree but I still thought it was funny.

Sometimes the funniest things in life are sad.

  1. Making posts that starts with "Scientists of Ohio's University have discovered..."
  2. Writing about how hard is your life and all the money problems you have

Really good ways to not make steem. I was about to add "Making post with your slutty photo wishing good nights to everyone", but sadly sometimes people get money with that

I totally agree. Faucets and Cloud Mining are just a waste of time and money. I must have spent months on faucets before realizing it was not worth it, you use all your time to win 5 cents a week on those sites or something like that, no thanks.

Great post. In short you should provide value first and foremost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71