STEEM TIPS: Passion as the most important value

in #steemtips7 years ago

I've been hiring people for the last few weeks in a higher ed sales role. As I continue to think about it I keep coming back to passion as the single most important aspect of hiring for me. I see that with the witnesses and mods that I work with on the Steem platform and I see that in the hiring I'm doing for my terrestial job.

What is passion?

It's the burning desire to see something change. For me I got sick to my stomach watching student after student fall victim to debt slavery. They don't tell you that 1/2 of all entering students will drop out of college at the admissions meetings. They don't really care. They want your 50 grand. If you graduate that's a bonus, but if you don't... idgaf....

So, I have a burning desire to try to help students that get suckered into going to college make it through with as little time and money spent in the education system as possible. You tack into that the fact that jobs don't find much correlation with success with a college ed degree and you can start to get a sense of why even though I'm in the industry I'm not really a giant fan.

So, every day I get up and go to work it's not making another stupid call, or writing another god damn prof another stupid email. Instead I'm working on a mission to help students find success in college and minimize their debt burden/slavery. It's that burning injustice in the world that gets me up and working.

Passion on Steemit

I spend hours of my life thinking of ways to grow the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network. I'm already thinking about how I can turn hosting the Steem Growth Forum into the Crypto Growth Forum and help bring other crypto networks into the steem ecosystem. I work a full time jobs, have a wife, have a house, have kids, and I still find 20-40 hrs a week for Steem related things. I'm on the train on my way home from work now. Where am I? mspsteem.com typing away.

My point is that my success and that of PALnet or MSP or even Steem as a collective is going to be based on our collective will to get shit done, and that will be determined by the passion with which we have at this.

So, as you're grinding out your way on Steem keep in mind your passions

You're not just commenting to gain followers. You're commenting to gain followers to help a liberty movement.
You're not just posting to make some side cash. You're posing to make some side cash and have resources to help other people.
You're not just making art for fun. You're making art because it gives you flexibility in life and you can expand minds.

I guess my point is to hone your passion and make sure that you're diving in. Steem is a rough ecosystem to half ass as there is tons of noise. If you give this a strong go and have some solid writing skills you should be able to make some headway if you keep at it. So, hone your passion and keep at it.

What are some ways to do this?

I encourage people to write a problem statement. Find something about the world you want to change.
Create a vision statement: Write about how the world will look different if you have your way.
Create a mission statement: Make 1 key decision. What are you working on. It'll make all of your other decisions easy.
Create a plan and start executing. Make some short term goals and figure out what's achievable and how you make progress.

If you're committed to solving the problem in the world you'll find a way to make the changes you're hoping for.

mspsteem.com

This post was written on mspsteem.com. It's a condenser clone with a 5% beneficiary hosted by @netuoso of the Minnow Support Project.

Sort:  

Student loans are just a way to get people into debt early in life to keep the fiat currency Ponzi scheme going.
If more students and their parents understood this going in they would abstain and help to bring this insipid system down. Ponzi schemes rely on a ever increasing stream of patsy's.
Knowing that the controllers of the current paradigm are happy to force kids into debt to enrich the bankers is a disgrace. I have never seen a single politician in any country bring this up even when opposing student loans which means that either they're not aware, in which case they're asshats and not fit to serve or they are aware, in which case they're lying asshats and not fit to serve.

A very well written passion post! I wonder sometimes if people reaslize what that really means. You explained it beautifully by stating steps to do to help create passion on whatever we work at. When I am posting my passion is in my work. I know you get that.

Passion is a motivator and can be the driving force in reaching your dreams. It can turn mountains into molehills and can change the hearts of others your touch. It is a prerequisite in tackling any true goal in life. Without it you are only numb to the world and worth no more than a machine that could replace you. To live is to have passion. To love is to have passion. To speak to the heart and change the world requires passion. Thanks for the wonderful post my friend.

Nicely said @aggroed. I have been MIA from Steemit for a while after posting and curating diligently daily for about six months and I'm just starting to crawl back. And you're right, there is a lot of noise, so I like your suggestion of a mission or problem statement to clarify where I'm going and why I'm here. Thanks.

I've never been moved so much by a single post. I think have come to realize that passion is what keeps purpose going even when the odds may not be in your favor.

The most important value is steem power, more steem power you have more money you earn, I am on steemit almost 6 months and still earn cents because I didn't invest big money that I don't have, I hope things will change and the value will be in the content but not in money invested.

lol. It's not. That's the output not the input. It can be the input... but as you may see a moneycentric attitude isn't getting you too far on the platform.

I'm one of those people that has a huge student loan because I got a grad degree. I've been thinking about ways to make the internet work to create time and financial freedom for people and have lots of ideas for that. One thing that was missing to make it happen was a platform like steemit where you can distribute profits to contributors. So, I'm cooking up way to make it happen now and catching up on the latest programming to do it.

you're our people. message me in discord when you got a project ready for launch.

thanks :-) I will

@aggroed Great post. I found this inspiring and yes passion will make the work word be replaced by (in my case) fun productivity! And the fact that this platform can connect you with so many different and great walks of life is a plus. I personally had always wanted to start a blog, and share my wide life interest,and this is a place for it. I feel that joining Steemit gives everyone a chance to be part of something great. Just like cryptos. I have big goals for my presence here; and goal setting will make it happen. Thank you for the( boost)inspiration. Best wishes to you.

Yes University is one of the biggest scams in history. Informative post, followed!

Universities are like any other assembly line type business. They pump out a product, and make a profit. There are benefits, like learning a craft, but the most important part of university/college is to make connections.

writing that is interesting and very motivating to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63402.76
ETH 2554.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66