Plagiarism: Steeming mad - seeing copied stolen content on Steemit- you wouldn't steal a car, would you?

in #steemthought8 years ago (edited)

I am steemingly mad, after seeing the same articles posted on Steemit.com as 'original works', time after time. 

Being an avid reader, always up-to-date on the latest news on cryptocurrencies and technology- I had seen numerous plagiarized articles taken from CoinDesk re-posted on Steemit.com.

There surely should be a mechanism besides the downvoting used to verify articles and content?! Something akin to the way people on Instagram give acknowledgement to someone else's image or content.

I don't mind people's opinions or introductions but articles copied verbatim are really frustrating to read and a waste of time. Furthermore, readers upvote this content thinking it's the 'real mccoy', profiting of others ignorance.People actually upvote this stolen content. The first thing that comes to mind is the advertising campaign for pirated/copied DVDs ," You Wouldnt steal a car"- so why steal other people's intellectual property?!

Please verify your content by acknowledging the source or referencing the site.

#Plagiarism #stolen #content #reference #dotherightthing #opinions

reference image1:

reference image2::

Sort:  

I always hated the "You wouldn't steal a car" ad. That is bull sh*@. I do think here it is more of a big deal than most places since we DO make money off of our posts. The piracy ads treat watching a movie or something of that nature as the same as stealing a car. Not even close.

I am not debating whether it is a good thing or not, simply the type of ad used.

When someone steals something PRE-MPAA/RIAA ads and manipulation you take something and the owner no longer has that thing there. If I steal a car from your driveway you no longer have that car. With Intellectual property copying/downloading it would be like running up to a car lot... scanning the car... whipping out a printer and printing yourself up a car... and leaving the original still there.

Again I am not debating whether this is good, or moral. I am simply stating there is a big difference between stealing a car and copying something.

I do see a lot of that going on here. I've replied to people that I've seen reposting the work of people that are on steemit. I saw two different people reposting @clains work.

It is a murky thing since if our hope is that steemit become a place we can come instead of other places we will need people to tell us if they find things from other sites. I am fine with them doing that IF they acknowledge where they found it and link back to the original. If they don't do this then it's likely I won't ever see it.

Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

ha ha ha ha I like your approach @dwinblood - I just thought it would add some humour but i get you completely. You have to admit those adverts where 'catchy'. I guess the moral of the story is, that some labour needs to be put in to the originality of the work and that a direct copy/paste is against steemit founding values. Thanks for the post @dwinblood

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63624.94
ETH 3481.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54