'Tis Pity She's a Whore: A Pop Opera - Act I, Scene iv ("It's My Daughter's Choice to Make!" ) ♪♫♬

in #steemtheater7 years ago

Act I, Scene iv

LOCATION: Outside the palace gates, near a park where FLORIO and DONADO are spotted on a bench, near a tree.

Both appear to be having cordial conversation. The urgency of the lyrics makes the audience members change their minds as DONADO initiates a proposition for Florio to consider.

twomen.jpeg



It’s My Daughter’s Choice to Make!

DONADO:
FLORIO,
THERE IS SOMETHING YOU SHOULD KNOW
ABOUT MY NEPHEW
HE REALLY WANTS TO KNOW
IF YOUR DAUGHTER WILL TAKE HIS HAND...

FOR MARRIAGE.

I'VE GOT MONEY
RIGHT WHERE YOU NEED IT
YOU CAN HAVE IT
WHEN I'M DEAD

I'VE GOT A WHOLE ESTATE
AND SOME PAYOLA
RESERVED FOR YOU,
IF THEY WED

YOU'LL BE RICH
BEYOND YOUR WILDEST DREAMS
BUT ONLY IF THEY WED

YOU'VE COME A LONG WAY
FROM THIS HERE MOMENT
I THINK YOU ARE PREPARED

FLORIO:
DONADO!
IT IS NOT FOR ME TO CHOOSE
WHAT MY DAUGHTER, ANNABELLA
WANTS TO HAVE IN YOU

DONADO:
I know...

FLORIO:
SHE'S A GROWN WOMAN
AND SHE CAN REFUSE
THERE CAN
ONLY BE ONE...

ONLY ONE!

DONADO:
I'VE GOT MONEY RIGHT WHERE YOU NEED IT
YOU DON'T NEED TO WORRY, PA

THERE'S NO CHANCE
THAT SHE CAN GET MARRIED
WHEN MY NEPHEW'S MONEY TALKS

JUST LISTEN CLOSELY
AND I WILL DEFINE
THE SITUATION AS IT STANDS

MY NEPHEW'S SUPER-RICH
AND I'VE GOT LOTS OF MONEY
RESERVED IN COMMON STOCK

FLORIO:
DONADO,
I THINK YOU'RE GOING MAD
THIS IS NOT A CHOICE I CAN MAKE

YOU NEED TO TAKE A CHILL-PILL BUDDY
FOR I KNOW YOU KNOW NOT WHAT TO SPAKE

DONADO:
I'M SO SORRY
FOR OVERSTEPPING BOUNDARIES
I JUST WANT THINGS TO BE RIGHT

THAT IF MY NEPHEW MAKES A MOVE
TOWARD YOUR DAUGHTER
THAT YOU WILL JUST BE OKAY

FLORIO:
I AM FINE!

BUT IT'S MY DAUGHTER'S CHOICE
TO MAKE!

FLORIO exits with flourish.

DONADO waves his hand dismissively to allow FLORIO to leave.

He removes a liqueur from his sleeve.

Donado: Cheers… and to my nephew, sir. (Aside) May he triumph over himself!

DONADO drinks.

(To Be Continued... )

Sort:  

Congratulations @tispitypop! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @tispitypop! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61796.23
ETH 2480.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64