'Tis Pity She's a Whore: A Pop Opera - Act III, Scene i continued (Soranzo Courts Annabella) ♪♫♬

in #steemtheater7 years ago

Act III, Scene i

Continued

Annabella: So, how are you?

ANNABELLA looks nervous, but smiles nevertheless.

Soranzo: I wanted to meet with you, mistress.

Annabella: Is that so?

Soranzo: Indeed.

Annabella: Why?

Soranzo: You seemed lonely.

Annabella: I?

Soranzo: Truly, and...

Annabella: And you...

They lock eyes.

SORANZO then gets down on his knees and presents ANNABELLA with a ring.

She looks at him and then his ring.

Soranzo: My dear sweet maiden, we have been together for a long time, you know. We have watched each other grow up in these quarters and walls, seen each other through schooling and been with each other through both good times and bad. I'm not sure how you feel about me, but I would consider it an honor if you would... take my hand in marriage. Will you marry me?

Annabella: Oh... this is very fast indeed.

Soranzo: I know, dear maiden.

Giovanni:(Whispers) No...

ANNABELLA looks sad and concerned.

ANNABELLA then nearly collapses on the garden bench which happens to be close enough to where SORANZO knelt.

ANNABELLA gently touches his cheek and smiles weakly at him and then at the ring that he gestures to give to her.

Soranzo: What, dear maiden? Are you alright?

ANNABELLA gently cups the ring in her hands and smiles at it.

SORANZO looks on.

She gently looks up and smiles at him.

ANNABELLA touches his face again as transition music begins to play for the next song.



I Do Not Like You That Way

ANNABELLA:
IT IS NICE
BUT IT CAN'T BE MY OWN

YOU ARE SWEET
WHEN YOU LISTEN TO ME

AND ALL THIS TIME IT WAS YOU
WHO LAUGHED WHEN I WAS RUDE
YOU STOOD BESIDE AND NEVER LIED
AND MADE ME FEEL BRAND NEW

YOU ARE NICE,
BUT I DON'T LIKE YOU THAT WAY
YOU ARE CUTE,
BUT THERE ARE THINGS I CAN'T SAY

AND MAYBE YOU WON'T KNOW
THE STORIES I HAVE TOLD

AND ALL THIS TIME I TRIED TO LIE
AND REASONED TO MYSELF THAT I
COULD REALLY TRY...

AND LOVE YOU

BUT I WANT TO BE TRUE...

YOU ARE NICE,
BUT I CAN'T LIKE YOU THAT WAY

YOU ARE SWELL,
AND I KNOW
GOOD FORTUNE MAY...

SMILE UPON YOU
AND TREAT YOU KINDLY
AND SEND YOU OFF
ON YOUR...

OWN WAY

proposal-of-marriage-1724676_960_720.jpg

To Be Continued...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28