You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A new puzzle about daily STEEM production (yes, really.)

in #steemtalklast year

One more argument to reactivate the mechanism deactivated with HF20, isn't it?
Or should we keep it for the sake of inflation? ;-)

I didn't even know that had been deactivated! I was wondering why/how those witnesses still had valid signing keys. Now, this makes me wonder if they were making contingency plans for the hive hardfork and subsequent attacks on the blockchain as far back as 2018. I'd be especially suspicious if it turns out that hive has reactivated that mechanism... (but I'm not curious enough to find their fork in github and search it down. ;-)

The inflation is a nice side-effect, but overall, I think I'd prefer not to have the missed blocks. As they said in that conversation, very few stakeholders are going to be monitoring witnesses for missed blocks.

I posted another comment suggesting that Steemit might want to remove one of their witness votes. If that vote gets removed, we should be able to confirm, observationally, if there is a corresponding increase in daily STEEM production.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66