5 Things I learned from the Steem Summit

in #steemsummit6 years ago (edited)

DSC03993.JPG
It is I, @reewritesthings

Yesterday was indeed a day to remember. I attended the first ever Steem Summit in Cebu. I would like to share how the day went from start to finish but instead I would like to impart the gems of knowledge I gained during the event. Without further adieu here are 5 things I learned from the Steem Summit:

Organizing an event is never easy.

I attended a meeting prior to the summit and I must say that the organizers have really put a huge amount of effort just to make the event a success. From the planning to the actual day of the summit, anything that could go wrong is considered. I worked at the registration booth and even I who only played a very minor role could say that the event requires patience and hardwork. How much more did the organizers? To @ybanezkim26,@thegaillery,@legendarryll and @honeyletsgo, thank you so much for pouring your heart in this event. Your efforts are very much appreciated.

31131422_588300441537578_3466828753005445120_n.jpg
Some of the working steemians

31091965_588303748203914_5794812980054982656_n (1).jpg
A photo with one of the organizers-@ybanezkim26

Go talk and earn new friends.

I don’t usually talk to many people especially if I have not met you personally but this time I went out of my comfort zone and actually talked to the steemians who I only have the chance to talk to inside steemit.
Grateful, that’s the word to describe how I feel. I am very much grateful that I had the opportunity to meet such awesome Working Steemians. It was my first time seeing @ybanezkim26 @themanualbot @xaydtrips @jan.lives and @jsmalila. I was astounded how all of us easily get along, well maybe because we already have kept in touch in the cyber world.

31124286_588299571537665_6811395395004923904_n.jpg
Working Steemians goofing around

31166908_588306031537019_7797128803624419328_n.jpg
A photo with @smaeunabs and @nikkabomb

31131621_588299284871027_5884827085033177088_n.jpg
A photo with coreleader-@jassennessaj

It was indeed a very memorable moment for me. I have the chance to meet my steeemit friends @nikkabomb and @smaeunabs in the real world. I often drop by in their comment sections when I have time. I also met the remarkable @junebride @morken @jassennessaj @indayclara and @olaivart. Go follow all the people I mentioned because their blogs are amazing!

There are lots of opportunities waiting if only you let them in.

From the talks during the summit, I realized that there are lots of opportunities to earn. @jassennessaj gave a talk about the achievements of steemph cebu and how the community works. @morken gave us details on how to further improve the community, the projects and plans for the future.

31123431_588304151537207_6208057596356591616_n.jpg
@surpassinggoogle's video on the screen

@surpassinggoogle also made a video. I was kind of sad because I was not able to meet him, minutes after we left the venue, he surprised the team and visited. Though I have not met him personally, seeing him talk on the screen was more than enough for me. @hansikhouse and @voronoi also gave a talk about @sndbox and how reaching out inside and outside the screen is very important. @voronoi mentioned @creativecrypto. I often get upvotes from them but I don’t have any idea what @creativecrypto is all about. Now, I have knowledge about it and I was happy because @creativecrypto recognizes creative works in the platform.

Everyone has so much more to offer.

31117714_588303721537250_4645301262869331968_n.jpg
Steemit Beatbox Community

While the performers had their presentations, I realized that steemians have so much more to offer other than writing. Miss @anneporter’s moves were incredible. How I wish I am as fit as she is. The Steemit Beatbox Community headed by @jaderpogi was also awesome. Gee, their talents are so amazing. We were also serenaded by the wonderful voices of @jembee and @queenlyka. Their voices were like that of angels.

Take each day as a new day to learn more things.

31131484_588301101537512_3761954003366182912_n.jpg
Our mini calligraphy session.

After the event was done, me and my fellow working steemians: @redspider @wandergirl @xaydtrips @anneporter and @brokemancode have a sort of calligraphy workshop. I let them try few of my pens and taught them the basics and I was so happy because they gained interest in calligraphy.

I think this gem of knowledge sums up my entire Steem Summit experience. Yesterday was a day to learn more about each and everyone and new things. I learned so much just by talking to my fellow steemians, and listening to their stories and experiences. It was such a day to remember.

To everyone who came, thank you so much for taking time in coming to the event. I had such a great time with all of you guys. I am so sorry for those steemians who I have not mentioned in this post but who I talked to because my little brain cannot remember all of your usernames. Pardon me. “Souvenirs!” “Souvenirs!” These words are still stuck in my head because I think I shout them for a hundred times. lol

Thank you so much everybody! Until next time!

31224754_2152355051448789_5567261931925929984_n.jpg
Photo Source: @fernwehninja

Sort:  

It was definitely fun to have you. I really thought you're also a Chemical Engineer so I bothered na mutagad nmo kay mauwaw ko. Haha. Pero you're very approachable. Thanks for taking time :)

Close to that. ChE without the "h". Thank you Jassen. It was so nice meeting you. Mas nauwaw ko. Nanugo pakog lain tao arun e approach ka para maka pa pic. Thanks pud. ;)

Congrats po sa inyong lahat team steemph cebu for a very successful summit... Goodluck, godbless and more power cebu community.👏

Thank you so much @cradle. We are very grateful for the coreleaders and organizers who are willing to make the community even stronger. God bless you too ;)

I can't believe you started the day with telling us about your hesitations on being sociable at the registration booth when at the end of the event you were calling out to everyone to claim their souvenirs! Grabe transformation haha. The Steemit community really brings out the best in people. Good job @reewritesthings!

Na inspire jud kong @legendarryll bitaw. He's very confident nya people person gyud. hehe

Glad to have finally met you in person, @reewritesthings! it was my first social interaction outside the platform as well so I was not that sociable haha. Hopefully we can talk more soon!

It was so nice meeting you @jan.lives. Yes, I wish we can talk more!!! Maybe sa next project sa working steemians. :)

Nice meeting y'all how i wish we have plenty of time yesterday so we can really know each other a little bit but hoping to see y'all soon!

True. I hope there are more events like this so all of us can get together and learn from one another. See you soon @christinealimasac ;) Thanks for dropping by hehe

Thank you @reewritesthings. Especially for the..... Souvenir! Souvenir! So accommodating kaayo ka,

You're welcome @abchro! Hehehe. Nalingaw sad ko shagit2. Haha. <3

Hahahahha. Finally got to meet you in person @reewritesthings. Hihi

Nice meeting youuuuu, Ree! ✩

You too!!!! See you next time. ;)

Dzaaaaa. Bongga! I'm soooo happy to finally meet you in person @reewritesthings. Sa uulitin, mag chika pa tag daghan dzaee. <3 Lovelots.

Hahaha you to nikka! Mayta next time kita nato achieve na achieve na nato ato goals. Balik alindog program nata. Haha. See you soonest. <3

shufaa na man ka daan dzae naa pa juy lovelife hahahaha. iampo na lang ko kang sto nino ha. basin kaloy'an pa ba haha

Oooops. Ge lang push to improve ta arun ma career woman na pud ta. I dagkot jd ko na!!! ;)

ana! hahahaha.

Reee! Thank you kaayo. First, sa pag-attend sa meeting bisag gamay lang ta. haha. And sa pag-take charge sa registration. Kuyog gihapon ta sa Souvenir! Souvenir! sa next Summit. haha

hahaha yay! Welcome dar. Nalingaw jud ko. hehehe Thanks pud sa opportunity. ;)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by reewritesthings being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28