Steem Summit Art Entry: Mandala on a Black Blank Slate

in #steemsummit6 years ago

Watch me create the Mandala - Timelapse Video

I choose to create a Mandala for Steem Summit's Call for Art. One huge reason for that is because it keeps me relaxed while creating those circles and patterns plus it is very easy to do, anyone can create it and it doesn't require any high art standards, just using patterns and shapes are good enough to produce a beautiful Mandala.

What is a Mandala?


P1280365.jpg

A mandala (Sanskrit: मण्डल, maṇḍala; literally "circle") is a spiritual and ritual symbol in Hinduism and Buddhism, representing the universe. - wikipedia


Multiple resources online have placed Mandala as a form of art and at the same time, spiritualism. It evokes the inner beings to be connected to the great circle - the Earth.

Round and endless, yet has lines which connect one shape to the next outer circle. These signify our interpersonal attachment to what's surrounding us - nature, humanity and even the spiritual realm. But at the same time, it proposes a balance of each component and it results in an appreciative beauty.


How I Made My Mandala?


I normally use my journals and other blank books but for this, I decided to go with a bigger medium. I found a scratch page of a black Blank Slate from lifeafterbreakfast.ph, it was the paper I used during Alessandra Lanot's workshop at National Bookstore's Art and Stationery Fair in Cebu last week.

The other three materials here were the Faber Castell Mechanical pencil, white Uniball Signo pen, and an old compass to create the guide circles.

DSC09342.jpg

I tried to use the other two white pens but they didn't work so I have to stick with the Uniball instead.

P1280332.jpg

These were my planned items to use but ended up with using just the Uniball. I just took a photo for documentation purposes.


I. Base circles.


DSC09349.jpg

LOL, I forgot to take a photo of the page where it only has the circles. So I just added this image instead. Sowee!

I started with circles using the compass, these circles start from the smallest to the biggest. I was not very particular with the gap size between each circle. As long as I got a base pattern, to begin with, that should be good.


II. Create draft patterns.


After the circles, I started thinking and drafting the patterns that I want to add to the Mandala piece.

DSC09346.jpg

I like triangles and curls, lines and circles. That was what I have in mind and so I just added thin pencil draft on the black paper!


III. Trace the patterns.


Creating the pattern took me just a few minutes as I will have to think about the detailed design later on. I got the patterns, I can then realize what I wanted to add along the way to fill in the shapes.

Using the Uniball Signo white pen, I started with tracing the center, as what most Mandala designs should do. The first was a flower.

P1280364.jpg

Flowers again fascinates me, just like trees and grasses, how come they produce different colors, different shapes, the different aroma when they come from the same land? Isn't the Creator amazing? He compels each different base to generate and blossom a variety of colors and shades as well as petal shapes!

P1280335.jpg

Then I added triangles! Lots of them actually. There was a point while creating the patterns that I thought I should name this, how many triangles can you see? Just kidding.

Tracing these took me awhile, around two days because I have to stop once in awhile to rest my hand as well as do my home chores and other online stuff.

DSC09352.jpg


IV. Fill out and finalize Mandala.


After all the tracing, I added the details and other things to finalize the Mandala. There's a tendency of not stopping though, I always encounter that when creating a Mandala.

DSC09364.jpg

After the last circle, I thought I should add perhaps another set but I stopped myself anyway, I have to ditch that idea as I will have to extend this activity and I still have a lot of things to do such as editing the timelapse video and taking photos of the final product!

DSC09371.jpg


Evaluation


I had fun! It was my first time to make a Mandala on a black medium and a white pen so it was a learning process for me as well because I have to be extra careful not to mess up.

Again, mindfulness, focus, concentration and relaxation have been obviously some of the benefits that I got out from this activity.

P1280367.jpg

As I was done, I thought I should frame this and send it as a gift to a friend, I believe my boss' wife from Belgium will like it. I will have to ask him and will send it to his wife once he confirms. If not, then I'll give it to another friend living here in Cebu.

P1280370.jpg



Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box. To make this easy, click HERE instead.

If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Please like @teardrops on Facebook and Twitter:

https://www.facebook.com/teardropstokens/
https://twitter.com/teardropstokens

DSC09334.jpg

Sort:  

Great, your efforts are appreciated and in my opinion you really enjoy your work because your post reflects that and this Mandala art is awesome and in my opinion everyone cannot prepare with this kind of perfection. Thanks for sharing this amazing and artistic post with us and wishing you an great day. Stay blessed. 🙂

ganda. Organized tlga pag may guides. haha.

Wla ako maisip i-submit... Whew.

Wow grabe such a great piece of art ate, maski gatan aw rako relaxing kaayo gyud. <3

Salamat dai.hehe

Nindot kau sya te do OoO
ayos kau tanawon bahalag hasol kau buhaton pero nindot japon kau AYOSA!

Dghang salamat kaau

This is one of your multitude of talents I admire the most. This kind of artwork just makes you want to say wow.

thanks sir for appreaciating!

Napakaganda nito. thanks for sharing. subukan ko rin gumawa nyan. salamat

go for it sir!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 6 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 16 SBD worth and should receive 71 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Sogoi!!! Wala akong tiyaga po sa ganyan huhu pero uniball is the best!!! Maganda din sakura gelpen mas mura ng kaunti sa uniball 😂

di ko pa natatry ung sakura gelpens sis.. checheck ko yan sa national bookstore..

Hehe sige po 50 lang ata yun compare sa uniball na 100+ hehe

ganun ba.. cge itatry ko yan sis

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by junebride being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

thanks mga bai!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.67
ETH 2465.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41