Things I LOVE (and HATE) about the Steem Summit

in #steemsummit6 years ago (edited)

I registered in Steemit February this year and I can say that my first 2 months was an incredible journey. For such a short period of time, I gained a lot of new friends and I got a better understanding of the platform.

1.jpg

You need to stick a bit longer and read further to understand what's going on in this picture

The @steemsummit held yesterday was my first time to attend a Steemit event. It was also the first time to finally see the faces behind the usernames I see a lot around the platform. In fact, it’s my first time ever to be a part of a community of content creators- it was a wonderful experience.

A lot of interesting things happened during the Steem Summit. Let me break it down first, with the things I love about it

WHAT I LOVE ABOUT THE STEEM SUMMIT

The people

31131490_588682724832683_263244068899782656_n.jpg

In this picture is @themanualbot, @jan.lives, @xaydtrips, @legendarryll, @ybanezkim26, @thegaillery, @reewritesthings,@brokemancode,ME, and @jsmalila (took this from @brokemancode, thanks man)

This was the best part. I just felt so happy to have finally met them and talk to them. The energy in the venue had me inspired the whole time.

20180422_173337.jpg

Can you guess which is @reewritesthings's calligraphy and where's mine?.... Don't stress yourself out people. Okay I'll give you a clue: Mine's purple. Flawless, isn't

The Fact that I didn’t break my neck


31131390_1874282012591926_5807787611477172744_n.jpg
I had to ask from people for some photos of me, I got his from @morken, thank you

I'm happy I was able to entertain the crowd with my pole perfromance. I didn’t slip, I didn't kick the projector and I completed the performance with only minor injuries. Haha

injury.png

The left: that was from holding elbow grip for too long. The right: I totally forgot how I got that

The Speakers

Well I had to say it was my first time listening to a talk like this. Two days prior, I was listening to a presentation about Polychlorinated Biphenyls and Toxic Hazardous waste and then suddenly there I was, listening to Michael and Nathan Senn about concepts that are totally new to me.

meme.jpg

But I had a great time and I knew it was just the beginning of much more things to learn. It was interesting to know that @kryptonia can be a useful tool for engagements in Steemit.

The Talents

Wow, Seriously, just Wow. I have to be honest with you. I never really appreciate beatboxing until I heard people from Cebu Beatboxing Community perform. How can you produce several kinds of sounds at the same time? Like…How many larynx and voice folds do you guys have? Where do the other sounds come from?

mindblown.jpg

MIND B-L-O-W-N

I love how diverse are the talents of the people in that event. In poetry, in writing, in photography, drawing, painting, singing and yes, ofcourse beatboxing.

beatbox.jpg

@tuffyjames doing some beatbox sorcery


AND BEHOLD... THINGS I HATE ABOUT THE EVENT

The 8-feet Ceiling height

Aspace was perfect. In fact, I couldn’t think of any place that is more ideal for the Steem Summit. But it wasn’t ideal for a pole performance. I had to make adjustments to the portable pole which has an original height of 11 feet. I didn’t install the second extension. I had to make adjustments to the tricks because if I overdo my inverts and climbs, my legs would probably hit the projector on one side, the trusses on the adjacent side, and the pipes on the opposite side. I had to practice when I arrived there just to get familiar with where I should be throwing my limbs.

But that's just me guys. Aspace was perfect. I just hated the fact that I can't do some more awesome stuff like drops and flips haha.

31206243_588683248165964_1570216481227014144_n.jpg

That's me practicing before the event started. Thanks @brokemancode for capturing my epic struggling- face.

The Temperature in Aspace


Now this will explain the very first photo in this post. What the hell are you doing Anne Porter? – I had to warm up.

Before I pole, I need to precondition my body and literally increase my body temperature. Though it was a comfortable temperature inside, it was too cold for some active stretches. Also, it was too hot outside and I’d probably be sweaty and slippery if I warm up there. (Not to mention the awkwardness of by-passers watching a lady getting into her front splits in a parking area). The ladies comfort room was the sweet spot – perfect room temperature and away from people’s attention.

warmup.jpg

I could never delete this from the blockchain ever. I'd probably regret uploading this. Please don't tell my grandchildren about this

I hated the fact that I was too shy to talk to some people


I may have improved on how I manage my anxiety and fear of performing but I’m still shy about initiating conversation with people I do not know. Can I just say hi to @themanualbot and @jassennessaj here instead? LOL. Also, people from Cebu beatbox community led by @jaderpogi, I wanted to congratulate and express my fan-girliness but I was too shy (and busy disassembling my pole after the event).

I wanted to talk to the Senn brothers of @kryptonia because I was just amazed of the talent and dedication these gentlemen have invested on their project. I love drawing inspirations from these kinds of people. However, I was too scared of throwing some silly questions because of my lack of technical know-how about blockchains, cryptocurrency and other crypto-equivalentsofastrophysics. Maybe after I do my homework on some readings about the topic, I’ll grow some balls to talk to them.

The fact that I didn’t get to meet @surpassinggoogle


Screenshot_20180424-162105.jpg
Peace, @ybanezkim26, :)

When I was new to Steemit (actually I still am), I noticed this guy @surpassinggoogle who has pretty high upvote values in my poor, lonely posts. I learned more about him and his cause from @thegaillery and @ybanezkim26. I hated the fact that I didn’t meet him that day. I didn’t know he would have a surprise-visit. @brokemancode already played a video message from him so who would have thought?!. That chat message from @ybanezkim26 that he was there just broke my heart. I asked Dad if we could go back and he said we couldn’t. Mom was waiting for dinner.

So that was it. Congratulations to the organizers, @ybanezkim26, @thegaillery, @legendarryl, and @honeyletsgo. I’m looking forward for more gatherings and other Steemit projects!

Sort:  

I wish i attended the summit.
I wish i was there.

Ahhm, for someone who wants to learn the pole dance,how to go about it?

Private class with me and pay me sbd. Hahaha

Seriously, look for aerial arts school in your area. They probably teach pole. Other options are aerial hoops and aerial silk.

My comment will be broken up into two sections,

what i DISLIKE about this post. and what i liked..

PART 1. ---------------------terry got cut in half on that pic------------------

PART 2. just all of it!! great post. this pic..

cool!

Terry was so tall i had to chop him off. Not my fault. And thats for him arriving just minutes after i left 😤. Haha

:P Yay Terry!

Hahaha that was sugar. Nice cut barberress!

OMG!!!! Those bruises!Do you always get bruises like that miss @anneporter? Thank you for such a lovely performance. I didn't know those amazing moves come with a price:bruises.

I had so much fun doing calligraphy sessions with you and it was so nice meeting you. I look forward to seeing you again. <3

@reewritesthings <3 omg You know I attempted calligraphy when I got back home after the Steemsummit? I couldn't get over the fact how terrible I was with controlling the pressure of the pen against the paper.

I bruise easy ree. I mean its not that bad. It doesn't hurt that bad either. I don't know..maybe my skin loves forming bruises.

Me too, I bruise easily. I hope you recover soon!
Oops, I hope your interest in calligraphy transforms into love for calligraphy. :)

ill go to national bookstore later :)) hahaha SHOW ME THEM CALLIGRAPHY PENS!!!!!!!! amma buy them ALLL!!!!!

Get ready natio!! You can ask for any brush pen available, and I'm sure they'll be more than happy to show you.:)

Thank you dear for your comment.

awesome write up! amazing kau ka sa pole dancing ay.. sorry to hear about the injuries! dali ra na maayo?

because late ko..wala ko kaabot anng mga calligraphy sessions.. sayang! pareha ta maulaw sad ko mag start ug covo..hehe
then ang pinakalast sad na naglagot kos akong self kay niuli ug sau.huhu

Hahaha. Lagi naguul jd ko. Cge lang move on nako. Gutom.na kau ko gud. Haha.

Lingaw jd ang calligraphy ni miss ree

cool btaw xa.sunod mag sau na jd ko. :)

Halo ms @anneporter. It was actually my first time to see an amazing pole dancing. Everytime I saw it on Television, it seems that it is just easy. But when I saw your performance, I think I'm about to have a heart attack. Hahahah. That was so lovely and amazing. I've been thinking if I can do it... wohooo. Thank you for that wonderful show. You are wonderful and amazing!

@morken...thanks for the pic too!. And salamat for appreciating the performance. It melts my heart that you enjoyed it

I really enjoyed it @anneporter... :-) you're welcome. You deserve to be well appreciated and acknowledged....

Hehe I remember all those excited faces of especially the guys when you started dancing! It is so cool that you can do that! Pole dancing is in my opinion one of the most underrated sport! I wish I could do it like you! I am to clumsy for that kind of things though :p
Great that you could promote pole dancing a little bit on the event!

COme on. Of course anyone can do it, @xsasj.Im sure you could! How about you drop by the studio and try it out? You'll never know.

Yes. People from the pole community is working on getting pole in to the Olympics.

Ahhh really! It is not in the olympics yet? Maybe if I am home and back into Yoga I will try it out. I see you are very strong and with my chickenpower, I am nothing :p
Should get flexible and strong first before trying it out to make the change bigger that I like it :p

Yoga is a very nice foundation for pole. 😍

Yesss Lets start with that and later maybe pole! It is already quite a while on my list of things I wanna try but mostly not happen :p

What a great post! This is one of the reasons I like this platform so much.
Wonderful people like you that are real! You don't mess around you tell it like it is.
I laughed,smiled and I felt a ouch when I saw your bruises. Be careful if you have a husband everyone will think he is abusing you.

Time to stop being shy.
I tell my wife @lovenfreedom shyness is the greatest form of pride there is.
That is hard to swallow but once you understand that the reason for shyness. Fear of rejection, you will understand that is just that Ugly pride.

So let that pride go away and know its ok if someone rejects you. It will be their loss and you cant stop that from happening.
If we let our pride rob us then we miss out on many great experiences life has to offer.

Thanks for this post it is a beautiful example of why the best of us are here!

The end part was sucre. You were the first i asked after upon arriving on there. I pictures of someone on the poles while you were on it and i didn't know who it was, so i asked upon ending up there. You aired a large measure of your personality here and perfects that's personality part is your sugar part. Stay sweet. Let me pauses here, so i can let your bruises heal. I think your parents are/were cool too.

#surpassinggoogleisreal! And he's going to spoil girls! Hahaha. I should learn from you, Terry. I'll bring someone to Paris soon!

Yah i wanted to go back. Dad asked why
"Dad ,surpassinggoogle is there...like now.".
.
Dad: "googlewhat whats that".

Sorry man. 😑

Seriously though. Too bad really. There'll be next time for sure! 😍

Maypa gi hinay hinay natog hurot ang KFC. Ug gi lingkuran to natog kaon kaabot pa tingali ta :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65709.71
ETH 2614.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69