You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I watch so many idiotic cat videos

LOLOL!!!

Happily, so far, our animals have managed not to get skunked, though we small them on a regular basis, and did even in heavily urban Largo, Florida. And the one time one sprayed quite close to the house, both my house and my neighbor's reeked for a couple of days. But I'm with you - eau de skunk really isn't all that bad, especially when in the distance, and you're the first person, aside from myself, that I've run across to say openly that it can actually be pleasant. So does that make us weirdly similar, or similarly weird? ;-)

Their spray is actually chemically related to the mints, as is cannabis, hence the similarity there as well in some strains. And I'm an avid mint lover from way back. Their spray is concentrated to a ridiculous degree, hence its effect on potential predators, and frankly, Lolo and the cats can't stand the smell of mint either; with the obvious exception of catnip for the cats, which Lolo thinks is just pure silliness on their part.

As for perfumes, colognes and the like, most are so incredibly toxic that I stopped using them years ago, abandoning them in favor of essential oils from companies I trust. And, really, I'm so picky there are only half a dozen or so that I really like in the first place, though Yves St. Laurent has a good track record with me, particularly with Paris and Opium. Which are also likely ridiculously toxic.

I've been a history geek my whole life, and have a large number of histories in my collection, which yes, have made me cry on a regular basis. Of course, I cried at the end of "Hot Blooded Dinosaurs," by Adrian Desmond, when he described the demise of so many species due to climate change, as their thinning eggs began failing to hatch.

So yeah, I'm an easy mark, especially for works on animals of all kinds. "The Empty Ocean," by the always excellent Richard Ellis, tops my list of most depressing books of all time. Just thinking about it is depressing.

My love for world and natural history has long informed my distaste for our current government, by which I'm including the past several decades, since the same self-serving sociopaths seem to always run things regardless of who holds office. And so few in office seem to have ANY grasp of even recent history, that I find myself wondering which rock they've been living under, and whether they will give back their victims' bodies once they depart for their home solar system. But I digress.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65725.56
ETH 2673.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.90