Steemit, The Beginning Of My Crypto Adventure

in #steemstory6 years ago

Steemit is my first real experience of the crypto world. Though before joining steemit, I've heard of bitcoin and ethereum but I never knew what they were. All I knew about them then was that they are currencies that can be bought on the internet and kept for some time for their values to appreciate before they can be resold for profit. But because of the general disdain for internet based businesses in my country since that is one of the channels most scammers use to defraud people, most of us never gave Bitcoin a second thought.

20180730094950.jpg

There was even a time when I met some group of young men sharing flyers to invite people to a free Bitcoin seminar. most people never gave them a listening ear because they have already heard that Bitcoin is an internet based business. I collected the flyer too, but I did not attend because of same negative reasoning that almost all internet based businesses are scams. Menh, ignorance is not good o! Imagine if I had joined the Bitcoin train about three years ago, by now I would have gotten some good gain. Anyway, that's past tense now.

I was browsing through a very popular forum (www.nairaland.com) in my country when I saw a thread that talked about "how to make some extra money by blogging". The post caught my attention because I was already sharing contents on blogger's blog for free, so I thought it would a good opportunity to make some free cash. I started following the thread but instead of them to be talking about being paid in real money, they said someone will be paid in what is called steem. In my mind I was like " all these scammers have come out with a new trick to play people again!" But I kept following the thread. It was when someone posted " imagine where we would have been if we had followed Bitcoin then. this is your chance to get on the crypto train!" That I thought of giving it a try.

Though I still didn't know what Bitcoin was then or how high it has risen, I just made up my mind to give it a try. I followed one of the shared links on the site and landed on the steemit sign up page. I clicked the sign up button, entered all the required fields, verified my number and email and was asked to wait for my account to get verified. And towards the end of April 2018, my account got approved and my adventure to the crypto world began.

I spent my first two weeks on steemit trying to understand the site by reading most of the articles on the welcome page. From time to time I would check on other steemians posts and drop comments. I got to know more about the site without even making any post of my own. About the third week, I decided to create my introduction post and I got a warm welcome from some steemians. My steemit journey has not been a regretful one thus far. I have learnt a lot about cryptos, I've even participated in several cryptos writing contests, I've understood what Bitcoin truly is and I've got to discover that there are over 2000 different cryptos and cryptos are taking over the world economy.

I'm so pleased to be here because this platform has opened my eyes and mind to the world of crypto. Though my progress here may be slow, the knowledge I've acquired about cryptos is really amazing. Through steemit I've also acquired some other cryptos and signed up to some other crypto site. Steemit is truly a good platform for anyone that would want to venture into the crypto world and I am very glad to be here. This is just the beginning of my crypto adventure!

Sort:  

Nice to have you here and a little bonus tip for you:
The first thing you should do is comment on alot of blog's that you find interesting and that you have the most knowledge.
This will make you steem power grow, good luck :)

Thanks for the tip. I'm already doing that.

Welcome to Steemit resuscitate. Let me know if you got any questions about Steem or anything related to it! The official FAQ can be found here and has A LOT of information https://steemit.com/faq.html - Also remember, Steemit is just ONE of the sites built that uses Steem the blockchain. We also have DTube - our very own Youtube, DSound for Soundcloud and Steepshot if you prefer Instagram like experience. I'd also like to mention ChainBB - forums, Busy - Steemit with more modern look basically, DMania for memes and Dlive for streaming just like in Twitch! You can also earn Steem by gaming now! Search for Steemgar if that's more your thing. Welcome to the blockchain! :)

Thanks for your informative guide. Appreciate

Welcome to Steem! Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem and we upvote our users to help them grow! Please feel free to download the Android app here and the iOS app here.

To get more upvotes, please join our Discord server here: https://discord.gg/N7Et97G

Thanks. I'll check out your discord server

hi @resuscitate

Thank you for sharing your story. Im glad I had a chance to get to know you as I consider you very valuable person.

Obviously upvoted. Have a great day
Piotr

Thanks very much. I really appreciate your kind words and it's a pleasure meeting someone like you here.

Im glad to see that you're not upset at me any more @resuscitate

I know my last contest left you a bit unhappy. Good luck with @originalworks. Your post about buddy has been writen very well. Easy to read and understand.

Cheers
Piotr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59488.68
ETH 2538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52