My Steemit Story: Grandma’s HomesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemstory6 years ago (edited)

EE04DA2E-6008-4C8B-BE33-5058B78C88EC.jpeg

I have been on Steemit for a little over a month and it has been an interesting journey for this grandmother of two. I will not pretend that “I have a financial hardship and this platform saved my life and allowed me to eat again.” That is not my story and “wealth” is a relative term. However, I do enjoy reading the true testimonials of economic deliverance from members of the community.

I joined Steemit at the invitation of @jluvs2fly who knew my passion for causes, writing, fine arts and investing. She also knew that I loved a good story. Studying the creative process as well as the end product is what I truly enjoy on the platform. I also love that the world of crypto currency is unregulated. I feel like I’m finally living out my “teenage years of rebellion” at age 65 (just joking). Speaking of age, do any of the baby boomers besides me feel like a dinosaur keeping up with the sci-fi, geek squad, and the grown-up PlayStation generation?

One of my biggest challenges has been keeping up with all of the long passwords and learning about crypto currencies. I also quickly learned that I’m not as technologically savvy as I once was and having to learn all of the different interfaces that connect to the platform (Discord, SteemConnect, BlockTrade, SteemAuto, Busy, SteemPlus, Partiko, SteemPeak, Dtude and Steepshot just to name a few) is quite a workout in beta testing.

The best aspect about this social media site is there are so many diverse, smart and talented people within the community. It is fascinating to watch the dialogue exchange and the quest for the almighty crypto, as well as meeting people from all around the world.

Posting and getting immediate feedback from prolific content writers on my poetry and stories is just great for the ego and helps me improve and hone my writing skills. I believe, finding your niche and settling into a like-minded community within the community is the key to success.

I feel at home on Steemit and still have “writing a major screenplay” on my bucket list. Who knows, it may be funded with STEEM! This is my story and I’m sticking to it. Grandma’s H-O-M-E.


This story was written for the collection of stories sponsored by @whatsup.

Photo Created in PhotoFunia

Creative Ideas in Living Color

Sort:  

Great SteemStory, sorry I was slow to get around to reading them all.

I really hope you stick it out. I just noticed you about a week or so ago from comments you left on my post. I feel like we would be friends in real life if we were closer together. I'm 51, but had my kids early and also am doing the Grandma thing! :)

I'm sending some SBD for your participation.
Thank you very much.

Well this certainly made my day. Thank you for the opportunity to contribute in the contest and for the steem dollars. Yes, I agree that we would be friends. I get such a big kick out of reading your post and just love it when you go on a rant and get everybody fired up, but then come back and encourage them.

Thanks for sharing your story and your adventures on steemit @pyemoney :)

upvote otw :)

cheers, Piotr

Thank you for reading, @crypto.piotr.

Great job! I love this story.

Thank you @whatsup. Glad that you liked it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by pyemoney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.54
ETH 2521.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53