You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Are Frogs really Important?

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)

Interesting post! Reminded me of my younger days when I wrote a poem for Kerry Kriger's poetry contest at Save the Frogs. :D And no, I didn't win.

I think their role as environmental indicators that you mention on your post is quite interesting. I do not have enough information about the issue, but I remember reading about a pesticide called atrazine that was found to cause hormonal changes in frogs so that the males were transformed into females. I have no idea what that means. And that led to more intense research and the pesticide eventually got banned in the EU and the US because lots of harmful effects were found. This would probably make an informative post.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for stopping by @zycr22.. oh wow, that's some crazy hormonal change, thank God the pesticide was banned. I was trying not to make the post too lengthy so that's why i didn't dive into pesticides and thier effects on the environment and frogs. It does affect frogs a lot and is part of the reason why thier population is depleting. A world without or with little frogs wont be a really nice one. But i bet talking about pesticides and its effects will make a great post. I'll do more research on that. Thanks for sharing your knowledge with me. Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45