You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quantum Consciousness?

in #steemstem6 years ago

It is a fascinating hypothesis. I propose you make one change to your wording: substitute the word "brain" with "mind". There is no solid evidence that the brain is the heart of consciousness. In fact, there are some theories which propose that consciousness resides both within and without the body. When we use the word "brain", we limit the discussion to beings that possess brains, when there is mounting evidence that consciousness goes beyond that. Looking at other species, such as plants, can help us better understand the vastness of consciousness and how it works.

Sort:  

Thanks for responding with this great comment @yvesoler! And I'm with you all the way :-)

I propose you make one change to your wording: substitute the word "brain" with "mind". There is no solid evidence that the brain is the heart of consciousness.

Yep, I know. But in this post I'm trying to convey the hypothesis as made by Penrose and Hameroff who do believe the brain to be the generator of our consciousness.

But if you would scroll backwards in time through my posts, you'd see that consciousness is something I have a pretty open mind on. There's even a post where I discuss the work of scientists that try to show plants to possess consciousness, or water having a memory of its own. On a lot of these topics I believe the scientists that operate outside of the mainstream, are unjustly maneuvered to the fringes of their respective fields of research.

Thanks again for your valuable addition to this post :-)

Oooo.... I want to read the plant one. I will go back through your posts. Looking forward to it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64364.24
ETH 3416.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48