You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Bizarre Natural Phenomena Vol. 49 - When The Seas Turn To Blood (Red Tide)

in #steemstem6 years ago

Great post, @ruth-girl! I had not really read up on the dangers of red algae, but I've been to a few seminars about the dangers of cyanobacteria, and it seems like both of these do a lot of the same type of damage.

Algae can really be deadly killers under the correct conditions, and New Zealand has even seen had dogs who have died from swimming in rivers with algae blooms.

Sort:  

Thanks for the input and kind words @valth!

Those dog incidents are just sad :(

Yeah, it's very sad about the dogs. Luckily I have not seen any reports of the same incidents happening to children who wanted to taste the green water.

I think the green water looks a bit repulsive to children... hopefully!

Yeah, and I assume New Zealanders are teaching their children to be aware of the deadly green water.

Hopefully! Suesa said green algal blloms happen around her place too. It just sucks not being able to drink tap water or take a walk along the beach or river...

Oh yeah, that sounds pretty annoying. I bet it can even be difficult to find bottled water if everyone goes out to buy it at the same time. We've had some local algal blooms where I live as well, but it has luckily never affected any drinking water that I know of.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62001.44
ETH 3479.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51