You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Scrutinizing a dark top model with colliders, cosmology and astrophysics

in #steemstem6 years ago

Very interesting post, @lemouth. Great job with making some very complex research understandable by even people who don't know much about physics! And I'm glad you convinced the your collaborators to publish in a freely available format. I gave the article a quick glance, but there's no way way I will ever understand even 5 % of that one ;) Hehe

Sort:  

No matter where the article is published, we actually don't really need any journal as it will stay on the arxiv. However, journals are important for peer-reviewing. Therefore, se should just pick any option where anyone (yes anyone) could get the paper for free. I am fighting for this for several years. :)

Oh, I didn't realize that arxiv was non-peer-reviewed. But it's great to hear that you are fighting for making the papers available for free. I'm very politically opposed to having any scientific paper hidden behind a paywall (that can often get extremely high for people who just wants to catch up on some science), and I truly believe that it should all be available for free. I guess the journals themselves need to make some money, but charging $50+ for a single article is a bit outdated in my opinion.

You need to be endorsed to submit on the arxiv, but this is very easy to get as long as you work with someone from the field.

I'm very politically opposed to having any scientific paper hidden behind a paywall (that can often get extremely high for people who just wants to catch up on some science), and I truly believe that it should all be available for free. I guess the journals themselves need to make some money, but charging $50+ for a single article is a bit outdated in my opinion.

I fully agree with this! I am now even refusing to write referee reports for non-open-access journals. That is of course very little, but we need to start somewhere, don't we?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58431.12
ETH 3142.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43