You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Wherein I ramble along, trying to think about putting genomes on blockchains

in #steemstem6 years ago

Thanks for an interesting read, @effofex! You certainly went above and beyond when I asked why you thought it was a bad idea to store genomic data on the blockchain.

The reason why I originally wanted this type of data on the blockchain is because I have become a big fan of decentralizing a lot of things, and I believe science is one of the things who would do well on a blockchain where we can record who uploads what, can see all changes etc. It's great that NCBI is doing a great job with hosting the data at this time, but the fact that they removed info about global warming is really worrisome.

But I completely see your point in how it's not a good fit right now. I think we need to wait 10 years or so before we start seeing these types of applications from a blockchain, and by that time we will hopefully have much faster and better blockchains that are capable of letting us store huge amounts of data in a decentralized way.

Sort:  

I think it'll be sooner than 10 year for offchain things - stuff like paper commentary, adding metadata, curation, etc.

Let's hope so ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71