You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Probing antimatter in its deepest details at CERN

in #steemstem6 years ago

If I am not mistaken, each particle can have its antiparticle which has the same mass but opposite electric and magnetic properties. The opposite of a proton is an antiproton; the opposite of a electron is a antielectron or a positron. So if you join them together you get an antihydrogen atom - the physical laws are the same for antimatter and matter (even their spectrum!). In theory nothing stops you from having an antiparticle of any atom but in practice antimatter is very hard to deal with since you can't store it like regular matter. If it touches anything it annihilates and "reduces" to energy (EM radiation / elementary particles)

Sort:  

This is correct. This is also what I said in my post ;)

which has the same mass but opposite electric and magnetic properties.

It sounds like magnetic and electric are the same. What if for example there are several magnetic dimensions? This would open the possibility for another type of antiparticle.

There are not exactly the same. Particles would accelerate in an electric field whilst magnetic fields can be used to control their track.

What if for example there are several magnetic dimensions? This would open the possibility for another type of antiparticle.

Sorry, but I didn't understand the question. Can you be more specific? There is no such a thing like a magnetic dimension (only space and time here).

Thanks for replying to a complete physics dork:-)

With magnetic dimensions, I had in mind that magnetic fields have a plus and a minus pole and I thought perhaps there could be particles with more than one pole for each, something like that:

magnetic_field.png

Or is this a different kind of particle.. or two merged into one?

Wait a second.. I just realize my error: With such a configuration, the magnetic fields would merge and result in a new plus/minus pair.

Not bad. I answered my own physics question. It may have been a dumb one, but I'm also kind of a bit proud of myself:-)

There are systems (i.e. not particles themselves but things more complex) that have more than one pole. For instance, at the LHC, we have dipole magnets, but also quadrupoles (like in the picture or here).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61124.40
ETH 2666.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60