You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moral philosophy and self-driving cars

in #steemstem6 years ago

Very nicely presented @zen-art. It truly reminds me of a Star Trek quote. "The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few or the one" In the first scenario they're both right or both wrong depending on your point of view. I think with the 'Trolley' scenario overall which ever causes the least amount of collateral damage, should always be the goal.

I honestly love the idea of a self driving car. I have an 8 hour car trip coming up on Sunday. Wouldn't it be nice to hop in set your destination and go? I can't wait for something like that to happen. Probably not in my lifetime.

With what has been tested so far and knowing of 2 deaths that could have been prevented had the 'driver' paid attention like they should have the incidents could have been avoided. Yet, if we're using that technology, there should be no worry to where there has to be a 'driver' still. If we cannot get to that point, then I don't think we're ready. Even these accidents which resulted in death were driver error for not paying attention. One was reading a book the other was on her phone, neither was paying attention to what was going on.

I don't know what has happened in other countries as far as automated cars, it would be interesting how they view the situation.

Sort:  

Thank you for such a nice comment and for sharing your views on this. I am looking forward to this technology becoming ready and available to us too and I think it will be during our lifetime. The progress is fast and I give it another 10 years (maybe less) until they become normal to see on streets and I think in about 25 years, there will be no more petrol cars and most of them will be self-driving. Fingers crossed :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57850.91
ETH 2358.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43