The Ass-Coconut, Pitcher Plants, Caterpillar Leaves & Dinosaurs (Day 3 in Sweden)

in #steemstem7 years ago

Day 3 of my holidays in Sweden, Uppsala and today I will share some more weird plants that I came across in the local "Tropical Greenhouse":

The first one was this weird thing I came across that looked like...well...an ass!

After returning to base and googling "Lodoicea maldivica" I discovered that this ass-thing is the fruit of a tree commonly known as sea coconut, coco de mer, or double coconut, a monotypic genus in the palm family. The species is endemic to the islands of Praslin and Curieuse in the Seychelles.

Interestingly, this plant holds 5 botanical records: 

  1. It produces the largest wild fruit, up to 42 kg
  2. The mature seeds weigh up to 17.6 kg and are the world's heaviest
  3. The seed upon germinating produces the world's longest cotyledon, up to four meters
  4. The female flowers are the largest among all palm trees
  5. It is the most efficient plant known at recovering nutrients from moribund leaves.

And it turns out I am not the only thinking the fruit looks like an ass:

This association is reflected in one of the plant's archaic botanical names, Lodoicea callipyge Comm. ex J. St.-Hil., in which callipyge is from Greek words meaning 'beautiful buttocks'. [source]

Here's a photo of how the trees look like:

(credit)

I was also very lucky to see for the first time in my life the carnivorous pitcher plants (Nepenthes) :D

The last plant that really intrigued me was this one:

This plant belongs to the Spathicarpa hastifolia species and not surprisingly most spathicarpa species are commonly known as caterpillar plants.  These plants are best known  for the fact that the entirety of their spadix is fused to the spathe.  

So these are the three plants that I enjoyed the most in the Tropical Greenhouse of Uppsala. Of course that wasn't the only place I visited today and we spend a good time of the day in other museums and sights of the city. 

We even got to see a T-rex...

and a Triceratops 

Well, there's more to say but these are the stuff that got me excited the most. 

Overall, although Uppsala is a small city it has some really great museum collections to check out. Exhibits includes plants, dinosaurs, viking-stuff, art (modern and old), egyptian (even mummies) stuff, science history, medicine history and so may other. Definitely worth a visit :D

Sort:  

If I ever get a pet, I want it to be a Triceratops.

How are you going to name it? :P

T-Ruth.

Perfect!

Lol! That's a nice one!

I'll call it "Bones"

Clever! ;)

P.S. don't think that I forgot my "assignment", it's half done and I'll finish it when I get back home :)

wow..photo first very cute ..:-) :-) :-) i like you

Those dinosaurs are so awesome, It is unique and great to see someone exploring the natural history and environment of a new country they are visiting and highlighting that in a blog instead of just taking pics of tourists spots.

Yeah I would not expect to see dinosaur fossils in such a small City. Turns out upsalla has a long history of universities and shit. They had some really cool Egyptian exhibits I am sure you would love them. They even had mummified crocodiles both adults and babies and other animals ! I almost got a boner I am sure you would love the Egyptian collection. It was small but very satisfying!

You forgot the church with the tomb of the mean king burried alongside his 3 wives

Are you in Sweden as well? (thinking)

nice one...especially that ass like coconut like fruit you discovered should make you famous in the social media word..especially as @trumpman especially from CNN anchors like Amanpor! nice post dear worthy of my upvote...keep it coming...

Hahahahahahahhahahahah! Thanks for reading :*

sure and love more of such infos. following for more. Seems both of us posted on btc exceeding $9k today. very good option for investors

Now all we need is those phallic ice cream bananas of yours and we can combine them with this ass coconut and we're in business!

Man you always leave the best comments! I love you <3

Congratulations @trumpman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post was upvoted & promoted by @monitorcap traffic bot.

Send minimum 1 SBD to @monitorcap bot with your link in MEMO field and recieve random upvote & post promotion in our daily TOP posts listings. @monitorcap - where 'seen' matters !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50