Part 2#: Can Plants Grow In A Maze? - The Beans Have Sprouted

in #steemstem7 years ago (edited)


Yay!


Exactly a week ago I had made an unboxing of this cool  "Grow In A Maze" kit: 

In case you missed the post, this is a great gift for kids (or immature 30 year olds like me) that gives them the joy of growing a plant while examining the phenomen of  phototropism, as the plants grow, follow the light and exit the maze.

So, as I said in that post, I planned to make some beans sprout before transplanting them in the maze. To do that, I used the old and tried method of putting then in some wet toilet paper. In case you are unfamiliar with the method you are gonna need:

  1. Toilet paper
  2. Beans (or other type of seed)
  3. Water
  4. ???
  5. Profit

Method: Just fold some toilet paper, put the seeds on top of the folded paper, fold some more paper and cover the seeds like a sandwich. Rinse with water, put the sandwich somewhere warm & dark (20-25 C I guess) and wait. Rinse every now and then with water to keep the paper moist but not dump. Transplant them 1-2 days after they have sprouted to a small container or directly to the soil if the weather permits it. 

So, first I got some white beans from the Super Market:

Then I placed them in toilet paper with the method described. Yes, I covered them again after taking the pics:

And then I started taking one photo each day

Day 2, Nothing Yet:

Day 3, Still Nothing:

Day 4,5, were the same....But on day 6 (yesterday night),  magic happened:

So, now that the beans have sprouted I will wait one more day and then I will transplant three of  them in the maze and the rest in a pot and keep them indoors since it's freezing cold outside! Expect another update in a week or so :D

Sort:  

Great!
I m looking forward to seeing the next update.

Good post bro thank you

They're alive! Looking forward to next week :)

Wow, I never knew a plant gift could be this exciting;) It would be cool to see a really advanced maze which required a lot of up and down maneuvering and see if the plant managed to find its way out.

I wonder if your beans will be smart enough to adhere to a strategy of always sticking to one side of the wall. Everyone knows that's how you traverse a maze :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52