WTF Is This Creature? Please Help Me Identify It!

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)



(Click the image to watch the video if you view this post on steemit!)

So, as you might know from my yesterday's post I spend this weekend in my village with @ruth-girl. We were to the beach and I was having a take-away coffee enjoying the sun and left her do her favorite thing, which is take photos of random stuff with her camera. At some point, near the shore line she spotted these jelly-like red things attached to some sea rocks.

I had no idea what they are so I followed my prime instinct and poked them with a stick. I got no reaction out of them, although I was hoping they would start squirting water or something :D

Can any of you help me identify what this creature is? I am really curious to know the species or at least the genus or family!

To help you out here's the information I can provide from my experience:

  • Primarily red
  • Jelly like texture
  • Firmly attached to the rock. A slightly more than gentle push wasn't enough to move them from their place. I didn't want to harm them so I didn't put any serious force :)
  • Relative small in diameter, about the size of a human palm.
  • Spotted at the beach of Agia Marina
  • They were on the underside of rocks (I had to turn that rock upside down to take the video)
  • The rocks were exactly on the shore line and at that point of day were out of the water due to the tide. This suggests that these creatures can survive many hours out of the water

And that's all I can think. Feel free to ask any questions you might have, I'll try to answer them if I can!

Please leave a comment, or preferably make a post with your thoughts. I would love to read it!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

My amateur guess: sea anemone when exposed to dry tend to look like this. Check with @branbello he could know

yeah, you could be right! I googled "red sea anemone", without the hair they look somewhat similar. Ill ask that guy out!

Why are you going to ask that guy out? Does it require a date to get an answer?

Duh! I am poor so I have to find another way to pay for his service! (or my english sucks balls)

That's just a...

Rock Anus

This is your best friend? right @trumpman ?

I'd definitely say it's a red sea anemone. https://www.virtualheb.co.uk/western-isles-sea-anemones/#

It's alien creatures that will conquer the earth.

That's true for sure, but their camouflage as red, chewed and spitted out bubble gum would work better if they would do this in the city and not in a rural area. :P

makes sense. here's an upvote :O

I think they are red sea slugs, mating on the underside of the rocks.

I don't think so, if your serious :P It really looked like 1 thing, not two things having fun :)

Do you do the taste test? Looks very yummy like a well cooked steak.

There is no way it would beat me in jellyness and taste!!!

You were hoping poking it with a stick would produce a dick, don't lie.

I only want yours :O

My first thought was it's a human tounge

looks like a melted dildo.

This!!! I think....

It is a Weblo scout!! They sure know something about blowing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 65142.09
ETH 3205.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57