You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Peak Meat as One of Many Reactions to Peak Oil

in #steemstem6 years ago

The odd thing, at least in the US, is that it is currently much cheaper to get meat-based foods and junk food than to get decent vegetarian food. I suspect this is more about the lack of demand for good vegetarian dishes when dining out. In contrast, it is possible to cook vegetarian at home for less than meat-based dishes, but in my experience of several years of cooking vegetarian meals, the better meals take a lot of prep time. In addition, even if you are selective at buying organic vegetables, the price is high, because they are highly perishable.

Sort:  

Yes, I'd go with your assesment here. Public adoption of something like the impossible burger that you guys can get at white castle is likely whats needed before things really start moving. I wrote a long post over on my previous non-steemit blog a while back on how to eat less meat which I want to adapt for here some point soon, as I really think its a topic that needs to be talked about in in a more practical way.

It is nice to see options like the impossible burger coming out here in the US. It is VERY difficult to find decent vegetarian food here when eating out, especially when going to major restaurants. One exception to this is Yard House which offers a complete section of food containing Gardein meat substitutes; however, I personally prefer what I might call "true" vegetarian food, by which I mean food that is not using such substitutes. Indian, Mediterranean, and many other cultures offer this type of food. BTW, I tried an impossible burger a few months ago. It was ok, but real meat-based burgers are better as are really good veggie burgers (not the Boca, Morningstar farms frozen ones).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64447.43
ETH 3163.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56