You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Genetically modified food can save lives and golden rice is a perfect example

in #steemstem6 years ago

No need to worry about offending me. I'm glad someone with an anti-GMO sentiment can find some value in the post and I'm even more thankful that your comment focuses mostly on golden rice itself. I think you're right that golden rice doesn't have as much vitamin A as some other vegatables like carrots. However, the recommended daily allowance of golden rice is only 0.9 mg (https://www.mayoclinic.org/drugs-supplements-vitamin-a/art-20365945) which is less than the amount of vintamin A in 130-200 g cooked rice according to your data. This means just a cup of cooked golden rice per day is sufficient to prevent vitamin A deficiency.

I'll admit that golden rice isn't a perfect solution to this issue. However, if a natural vegetable or herb could alleviate vitamin A deficiency in these impoverished ccountries and be easy to grow in those climates, I'm sure that there would be efforts to promote it as an alternative to golden rice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65844.70
ETH 3445.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68