You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A crucial time for the Ebola response effort in The Congo

in #steemstem6 years ago

Great post on a fantastic topic. I've been wary of Ebola ever since I read Outbreak in Grade school, even though I logically know the rate of transmission is low and it kills too fast to spread quickly. Still, that 66% death rate is scary!

Sort:  

Thanks! Yes that was the first time I'd heard of Ebola now that I think about it. A friend was reading it and explained it to me in great gory detail. I'd be interesting to revisit it again now that I have a bit more knowledge on the topic.

That rate is more down to the setting the disease is occurring in rather than just the disease itself (often through dehydration more than anything else). In a high income country the cases fatality rate would be much much lower than this.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34