You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Humans Can Punch - And We're The Only Ones Who Can

in #steemstem6 years ago

Wow that's very interesting! I never thought of that, but it must be true :) Since most of us don't have to fight for their life in nature, it just makes sense that most animals have longer fingers and are adapted to nature :)
I'm also very surprised about the boxing injuries, since I would've guessed that most injuries are broken noses! Thanks for sharing :)

Sort:  

Thanks for reading. I too thought that boxing/fighting injuries would be about noses, eyes, jaws etc and maybe ribs. It's an interesting read to find that injuries in practice seem to be at similar rates as those occurring during actual matches, yet training hours are significantly greater that match time. To me that suggests the adrenaline input - which I hope to look at next.
As for the evolution of the hand/fist I can see both sides of that argument. My gut would tell me that the fist-making for punching was a 'happy' coincidence. However, the theory that because the punch, and therefore a more successful fight, could have resulted in greater success to those producing offspring and so the evolving hand continued is interesting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66303.73
ETH 3592.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61