You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Mushroom Adventure In My Own Back Yard

in #steemstem6 years ago (edited)

Ahh, awesome mushie post! I love finding puff balls, new or old, doesn't matter. (I don't eat the old ones but they are fun to step on hahah) They aren't the tastiest mushies to me, but on days where I forage and find nothing else, a few puffies can't go wrong.
We see lots of amanita around here, fly agaric as well as destroying angel and amanita pantherina (super beautiful btw). We of course leave them be, but they are always fun to find.

Thanks for sharing this knowledge! Way to get out and explore, I love mushroom season!

Xx ToL

Sort:  

Thanks! I would like to try eating some puffballs, but I'm not confident enough in my identification to risk it. I'll have to get some more practice in.

Are there any other dangerous look-alikes to watch out for?

The dangerous look alike I've found are same as what you have described, amanita that haven't opened yet, but if you slice them down the middle you should see the Beginnings of their skirts and gills.
I don't see other look alikes in my area, but I'm not sure about other areas! I have found the more I get out and get hands on experience with foraging and identifying, the more comfortable I get with the area and what grows here.
Have fun collecting and identifying! Even if you don't eat them, it's still a blast!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55425.80
ETH 2363.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34