You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Luna-2: First spacecraft to reach the moon

in #steemstem7 years ago

There might be an image of the impact somewhere in NASA's LRO images of Luna, I did a quick google search and nothing. But doesn't mean somebody might be able to find in the images (which I assume are online somewhere).

Sort:  

I was also unable to find anything unfortunately. It's possible they haven't located it yet as it was a somewhat small spacecraft. Several of the later Luna landers have been photographed from orbit though.

I had a quick look on http://quickmap.lroc.asu.edu but the crash coordinates were only approximate and it would kind of be like trying to find a needle in a haystack, assuming it's even visible!

Interesting link! I'm sure the Luna-2 remains are somewhere in this pictures, but I'm not sure we'd even know what we were looking at looking at how blurry the images get on the closest zoom. Unfortunately without more accurate crash coordinates it is going to be very difficult to locate this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55826.71
ETH 2298.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39